Chicken Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I believe this is the Cornell recipe and it is very good. However there is a warning about the sauce. If you wish to use the extra sauce on the COOKED chicken, be sure to bring the sauce to a boil. The raw eggs are the reason to cook the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missbear43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, New York, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
Extremely easy to prepare and not necessary to use a blender or processor, as long as you mix by hand really well. The vinegar and eggs make a nice contrast, making the chicken quite flavorful. Slightly salty to the taste, it is not recommended for people who want to cut back on their sodium intake. I would recommend cutting the vinegar back maybe to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
We thought this sauce was great, it was very similar to the chicken bbq's at local events. We will use it again soon. I would cut back on the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNGORSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Funny -- my name is Dorothy and I had a recipe almost exactly like this from my former mother-in-law! Glad I found this to remind how to make it. I always make a lot more: 1 c. oil, 2 c. white vinegar, 1/2 box of poultry seasoning, 2 eggs, garlic and black pepper and usually a good splash of beer. I boil it on the stove and then let it cool. I also sometimes parboil the chicken to save time, then marinate, then charcoal grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! Do not change a thing. Those that left low stars were expecting tradition bbq sauce which this is not. This marinade is perfect just the way it is. Do not substitute the oven for the grill...or you will be dissapointed. Nice flavor for the whole family. My 6 year old and teens like it and they are picky. We don't think this is too salty and think it would be lacking if left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Fantastic! Just like the Cornell or "white" chicken bbq sauce we discovered upon moving from red-bbq-sauce country to rural upstate NY. The Cornell recipe calls for gently heating the sauce since it's often made in bulk prior to the big event. All summer long one can smell wonderful fumes from the chicken bbq picnics and fundraisers -- fire depts, lodges, churches, scouts and charities! I made this sauce using the AR recipe for poultry seasoning, tossed a Ziploc bag filled with sauce and chicken into a very cold fridge for 2 hrs; used reserved sauce to baste grilling chicken. Everything must be cooked to a very safe temperature. My belief system regarding barbeque sauces: all good, some better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This is absolutely the most divine marinade for chicken. Marinade overnight and it will melt in your mouth. I was so wary when I started it because of the color and smell (all that vinegar), but it is so scrumptious. 2 thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I am one of the few who didn't find this recipe to be too great. I guess I like my barbecue sauce to be thick and stay on the meat, rather than be soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I was so leary of this recipe at first, after making a vinegar pork roast recipe last year which was horrific!! Thank goodness I overcame my fear and gave this a try, it was divine!! I followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me) and it was perfect. I halved whole chickens and marinaded overnight. Can't wait to entertain with this one over the summer!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Marinated for 1-1/2 hr., but I think it would be best to marinate overnight (if possible), as I didn't get too much of the marinade flavor. The chicken browned nicely at about 35 minutes and it was moist, but the flavor was lacking just a bit...but was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States