Chicken Avocado Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Loved it. Great flavor combinations. Good enough for company. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
My husband isn't a huge chicken fan unless it is made a certain way. He liked this recipe and ate the leftovers too! I didn't have any sherry, so I used a dry white wine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We love this recipe. Made a couple minor changes, substituted yogurt for the cream to cut some calories/fat) and omitted the almonds for personal taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This is a fantastic unusual recipe. We used a lower fat version by using benicol butter and fat free half and half. Great flavor and even my 9 year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Interesting! Chicken with gravy, but with a twist: spicy heat for a Southwestern kick; Grana cheese for an Italian twist; almonds and avocados for contrasting textures and flavors. It really worked. One person called it "housewifey." Overall, a unique, creative blend of flavors you might not think would go well together, but they did. When I make this again, I will probably go the "healthy" route. i.e. replace the cream with starchy "thickeners" that may be handy, and sautee with olive or soy oil rather than butter. To save time, you don't need to sautee chicken until done - you can brown quickly and then let the chicken finish cooking in the assembled dish when it is in the oven. Also, nothing beats home made chicken broth for extra flavor (defatted, low-sodium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I just made this recipe, just as written but cut in half. It was absolutely great! This one has gone onto my list of things to serve special guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is amazing. Very rich-tasting! Our regular special-occasion meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was awesome! Though the gravy was just enough for 4 chicken breasts so I can't imagine it working for the 8 pieces it asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
OK...well this was dinner tonight and it was awesome! I noted all the advise they other people had tried...I used half and half instead of cream (cut those calories!) Butter substitute...again we are heathly eaters here. Sliced the chicken so its smaller fillets. I used 3 mushroom mix pre cut in the produce section, gives great flavor rather than just using plan button mushrooms. Served with a little Motz. cheese on the side (boyfriend loves cheese. I cut the avacado into chunks and put it on top of the chicken with the mushrooms and put the sauce on top. Also served with fresh roasted red pepper brown rice. I would totally serve this again! Thanks for this recipe! Its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was amazing. It took me about an hour and a half rather than an hour so I will probably reserve it for making on a weekend next time, but I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Delicious. Definitely dinner-party worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuleta

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States