Chicken Avocado Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Delicious! Took more than 30 min of prep but I chopped and sautéed an onion too ( and used a tsp canned chopped garlic).used gluten free flour and my gravy wasn't very soupy but yummy all the same. Used pine nuts instead of almonds. The avocados really added the best finishing touch, I would have never done that on my own! Even though this was more work than I like, I'm adding it to my recipe box. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I'm very surprised by the positive reviews as I usually find the reviews on Allrecipes to be helpful/accurate. I followed this recipe to a tee and it turned out incredibly boring and bland. The flavors and textures simply do not match up here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was really good. I used milk instead of cream and cut butter in half. I didn't have sherry so used vermouth and a splash of port instead. I used baby portobella mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms in the same pan after the chicken and then made the sauce in the same pan after the mushrooms. The flavors came together great. I did season the chicken with salt, pepper and garlic powder while browning. I think next time I might omit the almonds as they didn't add much flavor and the avocado was delish but gets lost in all the other flavors. I served over pasta. I did make extra sauce as others suggested so I had enough to go with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe! Its a great twist on traditional chicken with rice dishes that my family likes. I tried it the first time as-is (I usually try a recipe first to give the author the benefit if the doubt). Our family tries to eat pretty healthy so for us the original recipe was too salty, and buttery for our tastes. But other than that I love the idea of making your own cream sauce rather than using Cream of Mushroom and the hot sauce adds an extra kick that is different than Paprika, which I usually use. The second time I made the following substitution/ omissions and it turned out great and is a lot healthier for my kiddos: 1. Omitted butter and used just a little olive oil to cook the chicken, sprinkled with italian seasoning & paprika for more flavor. 2. Substituted whole milk for Cream = Less calories/ cholesterol, etc 3. Omitted salt 4. Saute mushrooms in the same pan as chicken, using the oil already in the pan instead of adding more butter. Substituted Sweet red wine for Sherry. 5. I cooked a Quinoa & Wild Rice blend and layered the chicken, mushrooms & sauce on top to soak up all the yummy flavor instead of cooking them separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
very tasty! My gravy was thick so I had to add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was very good but not my absolute favorite. I would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Other reviewers were right. There were too many ingredients in this and the whole dish wasn't great. It didn't need the avocado or the almonds. The rest of the ingredients worked though. I thickened up the leftovers, put it on a bun, and called it a shredded chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
delicious, something you would have at a fancy restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Preeettty good, I didn't have almonds so I crunched up some croutons and had that as my crunch factor, not as healthy but still good. There was just one thing missing in my opinion.. Garlic! I used it to season my chicken as I pan fried it, my mushrooms and a small amount in the sauce as well. I made it over jasmine rice and the turnout was successful. next time i might cook the rice and place that under the chicken to let the drippings do their thing. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle West
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is surprisingly amazing. The almonds and avocado add a great texture to the chicken! They really do go well. I added a hint of paprika at the end after the avocados too. Turned out to be an excellent surprising great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States