Chicken, Avocado and Mango Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I've made this several times now... first exactly as called for in the recipe, then with personal tweaks. Now it's one of our staple meals! I always cook the chicken first with seasonings, garlic, sweet onion, and sometimes a red pepper. Also we prefer spinach over lettuce, to which I add a handful of chopped, fresh cilantro and sometimes green onions. The dressing is stellar. Once I made the chicken extra spicy, and added 2 Tablespoons of plain yogurt and 1 Tablespoon of mango chutney to the dressing to balance the flavors, which was also really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Mango and avacado is a wonderful combo and the dressing is beautiful. I think I'd even make it again to use as a dressing for any type of salad or as a sauce for chicken. I did use spinach instead of lettuce and found that to be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Great flavor, nice colors, this dish was unusual, and everyone seemed to like it. Filling yet light, and used as a main dish. The lime juice gave it a nice tartness, but was balanced with the brown sugar. I used chicken tenderloins cooked & lightly seasoned just before making the salad, and added 1/2 c of shredded carrots just because I wanted extra veggies in it. Really good, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made a few changes to this recipe. I nixed the brown sugar because mango is sweet enough on its own and seasoned the chicken first with chili powder, cayenne pepper and garlic then added some hot sauce to it. I diced some tomatoes, red onions and cilantro to add to the avocado and mango, added the lime juice and then topped with the chicken. Instead of iceberg lettuce which I find disgusting, I used spinach. Came out great. The spicy savory taste of the chicken was nicely juxtaposed with the sweetness of the mango and the buttery avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I really liked the dressing but I do not know what type of chili garlic sauce was used - I used the hot Asian type and used 3/4 of a tsp. I also added 2 T. Mango Chutney. Fabulous ! You can leaave out the chicken for a first course salad and add some thin slices of red bell pepper and for extra fun top with a little toasted sunflower seeds. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I usually like combinations of flavors like thi, but this just didn't work for me. Best to eat immediately after making; it doesn't keep well at all, even a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Very bold flavors. I loved the sweet/spicy combo of the dressing. I used simple grilled chicken - sliced thin on top of the salad and it worked out nicely. One important note is not to pour the entire batch of sauce over the top. A couple of drizzles should do, or the flavors of the salad are overpowered – more can be added as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was pretty easy and yummy to make. The dressing was good if you used only a little bit, but it was easily overwhelming on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Really love this dish. I shred the chicken up and toss it into the chopped lettuce (my family like it with Iceberg Lettuce) and if you don't have any mangoes, tinned mandarines are also nice with it too. I am not keen on the dressing, but my family and I love this dish with ranch dressing. A lovely meal in the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is delicious! I have made it twice and it is amazing - I make my own chili garlic sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States