Chicken, Asparagus, and Mushroom Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is a quick, easy and very tasty dish. I only gave it 4 stars because I had to add a lot more lemon juice and wine. The liquid cooked down really fast so I used a total of 3 tbl wine & 3 tbl lemon juice. Just kept the ratio equal. Just know that you can't add the extra liquid until later or the chicken won't brown it will steam. If it is too thin, add another tbl of butter to thicken or resv one of the tbls the recipe calls for until you add the extra liquid. I used 1 Tbl fresh parsley because I had it on hand. I did use 2 cups of mushrooms per the suggestion. I have been looking for a new simple but tasty chicken recipe and this is it! Thank you Grneyedmustang; this must be the next best thing to being in your kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made a few modifcations - onion instead of garlic, subbed olive oil for butter and upped the cooking wine and mushrooms. It was exactly what I wanted. Light and tastey and perfect for spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very nice Italian-ish recipe. I lessened the cholesterol by 60 mg by using only 1 tblsp butter and 4 tblsp olive oil. Also took 130 calories off the total by using only one chicken breast and cutting it into bite-sized pieces. And, for personal preference, I browned the chicken in the skillet then added the liquid after the browning was complete. Otherwise, no changes in ingredients - served with angelhair pasta and some good parmesan and a lot of pepper. Next time, I will add onion. Very good, grneyedmustang - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML Key West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a very tasty dish, however anytime I see lemon butter and white wine I usually add capers. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Five stars, ten if I could! Didn't change a single thing the first time...the second time I substituted broccoli for the asparagus because that's what I had on hand...equally as delicious...thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a great and awesomely easy recipe. I added a variety of veggies, like snow peas, red peppers, and onions. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyradis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This dish was delicious with just the right amount of seasoning to keep it light. I made it without the wine however (non on hand) and just topped with some parmesan cheese. Will keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Great recipe, I only made one change - used boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts, which made the chicken more moist. This would have been fantastic with cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Maybe those who gave this a not so shining review- don't like to eat healthy. Honestly as written- it's 4.5, it could use a little more zip- fine. That isn't hard to do. I have made this as written and a little doctored. The best part is you can tailor this to your pantry. I have a Diabetic child and a husband who loves low to no carb and this dish fit the bill. We love it around here. My children both love veggies and this is so easy. I generally make it with Asparagus, Colored Bell Peppers, Vidalia's, sometimes mushrooms. I leave the wine out and use Chicken Broth. I can't drink white wine. :( But we don't miss it. This is such a beautiful presentation and so easy to do. We love crisp veggie's so I saute them only a bit. It's such a vibrant and colorful dish- the flavors are amazing. It's delicate- even more delicate if you use fresh herbs. It's also so good for you. I serve it with Jasmine or Brown Rice- you could do garlic pasta. I don't usually double my sauce though- I don't think it's supposed to be saucy though the sauce is great and flavorful. Fresh lemon juice makes it. I will make this again and again- it's a great dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a great, easy weeknight meal! Even my picky 3-year old had seconds. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great, but I think that next time I will add onions, snow peas, and red peppers as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States