Chicken Arroz Caldo (Chicken Rice Porridge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was a very simple recipe to assemble and made for a delightful result. This was my first time cooking with glutinous sweet rice and I loved the way it thickened the soup just perfectly. Very lovely and easy chicken porridge recipe, thanks for sharing lola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Turned out so good! My mom always made it with more rice to make it less soupy so I added an extra cup and a half of rice. Takes me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaira Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I'm Filipino and grew up eating this dish. My parents don't measure their ingredients so it is nice to find this recipe. Followed the directions accordingly and tasted like my parents' dish. My parents enjoyed my cooking as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is just as delicious as my moms! I only made a few small changes which I remember from my mom's soup. I used chicken thighs instead of wings and seared the skin to make it crispy before I added it to the pot. I also added small diced carrots to the soup. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My wife is a bit squeamish so I simmered a leftover rotisserie chicken, after dinner, for 2 hours and used the broth the next day with deboned breast meat to make the dish. Next time I’ll throw in a few wings for daddy;{)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was wonderful! I used brown rice and chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand. Also I added some celery when it was close to being done cooking. We garnished it with cilantro, avocado, and green onions which complemented the dish nicely. This was such a great meal for a cold snowy day. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kidioko
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
What an easy and flavorful porridge. I made a batch for a family party and the easy adjustments helps a lot on AR. This is not a pretty dish but it is super yummy and kids love it but be careful of the bones. I use white pepper and bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Loved it! Used chicken thighs instead of wings. It even passed the native Filipino test - my boss tasted it and pronounced it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickwriter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Absolutely awesome Arroz Caldo! When I visit the Phillipines, one of my favorite Filipino dishes is Arroz Caldo and this is even better than what I'm used to getting there! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out superb! My Filipino wife LOVED it and wants me to make more. I want to make more! I did not find it to be overly salty as some reviewers complained of. If, however, you do not normally use much salt you may want to use unsalted chicken broth. Also, instead of lemon, I was able to procure some calamansi lime which is served in the Phillipines with this dish and made it very authentic for me. Happily, and without reservation, I give this a 5-star, two thumbs up rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My dad used to make this all the time, and it's such a great comfort food, especially in the Fall/Winter. I always thought it was hard to make, but it's really very easy! I pretty much make it as directed in the recipe but with a few changes: 1. I use chicken thighs, skin off 2. I use water with a bit of liquid chicken stock concentrate 3. I only use the fish sauce to taste 4. I use Jasmine rice because it's what I usually have on hand 5. I squeeze lemon juice over the pot while it's cooking to really incorporate the lemon flavour. I really love this dish and it'll be a staple in our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States