Chicken Apple Sausage with Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It has a good basis. Based on the reviews and my own concerns about flavor I changed it up. I did not do it in the Dutch oven but in a big stew pot. I also added 1 lb of chicken and a pack of marinade for flavor. I used an herb and white wine mix but didn't add anything in addition to.the apple juice. came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've just read all of the reviews and I feel like I'm missing something here. Vinegar? I don't see vinegar in the recipe. I'm giving it 5 stars because it's such a good base recipe and so easy to tweak. I had all of the ingredients in the house...almost. Actually, used venison sausage which was quite bland so I needed more salt and lots of pepper. Only had 2 cups apple juice which is more than enough, and I think vegetable or chicken broth would be just fine. Perhaps throw in a cored, peeled and chunked apple or two. And it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was a wonderful Fall recipe! I used regular potatoes (didn't have the Yukons) peeled and cut and simmered with apple cider. It was easy to cut shreds of cabbage from the head and it tasted great, much better than a similar recipe using sauerkraut. After reading other reviews, it seems some have misread the recipe, using apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. Yikes, no wonder they did not like the strong vinegar taste. There is no vinegar called for in this recipe. I recommend they try it again, but with apple cider this time, and believe they will really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I gave this recipe 2 stars only because my husband liked it. However, I thought it was absolutely horrible! I don't understand the rave reviews for this recipe. I tasted nothing but vinegar! The sausage was OK, but there was a strong vinegar flavor. The potato's came out better. Since my husband liked it, I will probably be asked to make it again. If I do, I will use less apple cider vinegar, for sure, and make up the difference with apple juice. I will also add slices of apple and hopefully that will help. However, I will try to get out making this monstrosity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I really liked this dish. I think the Dijon mustard is a must! I ate half of my plate before remembering the mustard and I liked it so much better with it. My husband even liked it and he didn't even know it was healthier chicken apple sausage. It has a bit of sweetness but the salt, pepper & mustard really balanced it out nicely. Will make again for sure! Thanks for another great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was absolutely amazing. I used 3 cups of apple cider, as I imagined apple juice would be too sweet. The chicken apple sausage was pre-cooked, so I only heated them for a minute or so before adding the onion. Our grocery store didn't have Yukon potatoes, so I chopped up some small potatoes. It was too difficult to get the sausage and potatoes out from under the cabbage, so I just left them all in there as the cider cooked off. This left the potatoes a bit soggy, but the whole meal was scrumptious. The others I was cooking for don't typically like cabbage, but they went back for seconds on this one. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I found some Chicken Apple Sausage in the freezer, and I decided to give this recipe a try. I like all the ingredients, but I didn't like them together. The sausage tasted fine, and the cabbage cooked in apple juice was different. If you know someone who doesn't like cabbage, they might be OK with this, because it really doesn't have a cabbage flavor, just a sweet flavor, yet not apple-y. However, the Yukon Golds cooked in apple juice didn't make the cut. I want potatoes to taste like potatoes, and I found the sweet flavor imparted by the apple juice to be unsettling. I probably won't make this recipe again. This review isn't a "Dear John" letter, but it isn't a love letter, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I did make some changes. As I didnt have enough potatoes I added some chopped apples... and when I started I thought I had apple juice in the fridge which turned out to be fruit punch (yuck). Instead of apple juice I used white wine. I think the sausage I used is the BEST tasting sausage(Aidells's). As a result of the changes, It was bursting with flavors! It was incredible. Even my toddlers had a few bites. I will absolutely make it again. In fact, my husband just purchased some sausage specifically for this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Tried this tonight for supper. Unfortunately I found it waaaaaay too acidic and I only used 2 cups vinegar & 1 cup juice. I even used a sweet onion and yes I caramelized the heck out of them. Even with extra potatoes, the acid was just too much. I ended up adding sugar to save the dish, and I never cook with sugar. To try to get it to mellow out I cooked it on the stove for twice the time recommended and the sausage split. I recommend cutting this recipe with some chicken stock. One of the reviewers used sweet potatoes which doesn't seem like a half bad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I read the reviews, and I have to disagree. I know this is Chef John, but this was a huge disappointment. I followed this recipe to the letter, and what I ended up with tasted like meat and potatoes boiled with cabbage and water. I expected some apple flavor using the apple chicken sausage and cooking it in apple juice. The apple flavor was nonexistent, and the sausage was tough (the texture really changed), burst open (not good for presentation), and I did simmer on a low temperature. It was so bland that near the end I added some caraway seeds, more salt and pepper, and we actually used cider vinegar at the table to add some flavor. If I were to make this again, I would use more onion, and add fresh apples to the cabbage. Since the sausages picked up no flavor from the apple juice and were totally cooked anyway, I'd most likely not simmer them with the cabbage and just add in toward the end to reheat (they looked great after browning). By the way, the recipe doesn't say what to do with the garlic cloves, so I watched the video...he crushes the cloves. Sorry Chef John, this is just my opinion, but I did not consider this one of your best efforts. Doubtful I'll make again, too many tweaks to make this work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States