Chicken and Wild Rice Slow Cooker Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
everyone who said it was bland, must've used plain wild rice. lol. very good. i cut back on chicken breasts and added boneless thighs.plus seasoned with a bit of garlic and chicken seasoning. turned out pretty good. ps .tw boxes of uncle ben :"SEASONED": long grain and wild rice was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatorsaladno.1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
First of all, this would have to be made in a HUGE crockpot to get SIX breasts in. It was disappointing. In principle this is a good idea, but needs work. I made half the rice recipe with 4 breasts and they fit fine in my large size pot. The chicken turned out very bland. The breasts should be seasoned. At the end, I shredded the chicken and mixed everything together. I didn't use carrots because I am allergic, had I put them in this would have been even blander (and mushier). Also, the long grain and wild rice boxes have less than 1 cup mix so prepare to buy several to get the amount needed. The dish in general is NOT visually attractive. If you are looking to WOW guests, don't choose this one. I suppose it would be good to feed a large group of people but only fixing the flavor. I will mix in some light cream and Parmesan cheese to make it look like a risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This cooked well (the chicken was moist & tender, the rice was cooked & had the right amount of moisture to it, the carrots were not mushy), but I personally did not like the taste of the rice, although normally I like wild rice. My family was not enthused about this, either. I used 2 boxes of wild rice & supplemented w/ 1 cup instant brown rice. I think you could get by w/ 3 boxes of wild rice, though. Also, I would omit the carrots, they don't add anything to the taste. I think this would taste better made w/ plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very disappointing. I didn't read the other (few) reviews before making. Thought the ingredients would make for a good basic dish that all in my family would like. The only changes I made: used 2 large turkey breasts rather than the chicken breasts, and used vegetable broth instead of plain water. Still, my 6qt crock pot was full to the brim. I was hopeful as it cooked, but ended up disappointed in many ways. The turkey was tender and tasted fine, actually did have a seasoned taste. However, the overall dish did not look appetizing and was certainly not satisfying.... and my family loves both rice and carrots. The rice was just rather strange tasting and the bottom was overcooked, some of it burnt. The carrots seemed out of place, adding nothing to the dish. In hindsight, I'd prefer to cook the meat in the crock pot and prepare the rice and carrots separately. I think all would turn out better that way and look vastly more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This did not turn out even though I followed the directions to a T. Oh well they cant all be winners right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I had the computer reduce this recipe for 2 people and follwed it exactly but it came out like a paste. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
It was good. I used wild rice mix (4boxes) and 3 chicken breast, everything else i followed direction. I agree with other, carrots aren't really necessary. I think I'll try adding some onion and bell peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made a few adjustments . I used one can cream mushroom an two cream of chicken. I also added onion powder, garlic salt, and chicken seasoning. 30 minutes before serving put shredded cheddar cheese on top. My entire family loved it including the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Love the taste and moisture in the chicken but the rice was way too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Ok, next time I will read reviews instead of going "wow, I have all the ingredients". This was terrible and yes I did use Uncle Ben's Wild Rice - one with flavoring. For one thing the rice came out pasty and extremely bland. I thought seriously about adding ingredients but decided to stick the recipe. mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States