Chicken and Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Memyselfilisa
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Soooo good added bacon !! FABULOUS !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Shapow
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this. It was delicious. I used homemade Belgium waffles added Romanie lettuce and substituted the chedder cheese for a fresh pineapple ring. See picture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Shapow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tekonsha, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I was skeptical about the sauce, but made it anyways. I didn't care for the sauce by itself, but it complements the chicken very well and added another dimension to the flavor. The sauce was a great counterbalance to the gentle heat of the chicken. I also made homemade Belgian waffles to go with the chicken and sauce. My picky family said this is definitely a "make it again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
First time I had this ever, so I'm really happy I chose this recipe!! I was startled by the amount of cayenne and cut it in half. Big mistake on my part, there was no heat. But still... omg, so freakin delish!! I made homemade waffles with this and it was just good eatin'. No other way to describe it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe is PERFECT! I followed it exactly as written. My husband and children loved it. The only thing I regret is that we can only have it once a year due to it's caloric intake. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I substituted chicken strips for the tenders. It was surprisingly good! My mother ate the whole thing and usually only eats less than half as much. She loved it so I WILL make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyFlash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I loved this recipe. At first I tried it with frozen waffles and found that they were somewhat soggy at the end. On my second attempt I made savory spiced waffles in my waffle iron and found it was not soggy. To melt the cheese I put the sandwiches in my toaster oven. The family raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Way too much breading left over. I was reluctant to put all that cayenne pepper in for fear it would be too spicy, but it was good. Top waffle cold (frozen) and bottom waffle soggy. Chicken tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'm giving this 5 stars for the chicken alone! Additional fried chicken hints I've picked up from commercial kitchens: The colder the chicken, the better for adherence. Slice boneless breasts (I used 3) into thick strips while still slightly frozen before soaking in the egg mixture, or soak in ice water first and use well-chilled eggs. Don't be afraid to really roll and gently squeeze the tenders if you want a good, thick, crusty coating; don't just shake them in the flour. 6 stars from my hungry 7yo son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wow! This was a big hit with the entire family. The kids were full of ummmm's and yumm's and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. My husband gave it 11 out of 10 stars and my baby girl said it deserves infinity stars. Granted it is not the most healthy meal but it doesn't hurt to indulge every now and then. I made my own 9" waffles using one of the recipes on the site. I also used 4 good sized chicken breast that I cut into about 16 chicken tenders. From there I followed the recipe however I substituted horseradish for baconaise sauce, buttermilk instead of heavy cream, and 3 teaspoons of regular mustard instead of 1 teaspoon of dry mustard powder. We didn't have any bacon to go with these but it wasn't needed. Slapped some velveeta on these babies, broiled them, added the yummy sauce, a lil bit of lettuce, then pressed them down and sliced each one in half. Because I used 9" waffles they turned out HUGE!!! My husband was the only one that was able to finish his but not for lack of trying. I almost finished half of one, my 5 year old eat about 1/4 of one and my 7 and 13 year old also eat half. Between the 5 of us we could have gotten away with just 3 waffles instead of 4. I was skeptical about putting the mayonnaise sauce with spicy chicken and waffles but it was a delicious, flavorful, and unique experience. Excellent for a fathers day breakfast/brunch or any special occasion that requires a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States