Chicken and Veggie Hand Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
These were great! Another keeper. I wanted a different look for a brunch....so I gently spread out the dough and put the room temp cream cheese spread down the middle then put on veggies and cut 1/2 inch strips down both sides and braided over chicken veg filling. Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRITTLEY47
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Considering how quick and easy this recipe was, it will definitely be a keeper! I have a ton of broccoli growing in my garden and was looking for some ways to use it other than plain old steamed broccoli. I modified the recipe slightly: used diced chicken thighs, onion, garlic, Parmesan cheese (in addition to the cream cheese), and sun-dried tomatoes (instead of red pepper). I pre-cooked most of the filling ingredients in some olive oil and added a dollop of cream cheese to that. Also added some Italian seasoning and S&P. I used the filling on pillsbury pizza crust, and then topped with a little extra cream cheese and some parmesan. It came out great. I'm already thinking of the endless filling possibilities. Goat cheese or feta would probably also work. Does anyone think this would freeze well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were ok but I don't think I will make them again. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This turned out a lot better than I expected! I, too, used the cooking creme italian herb cheese and canned chicken. I didn't measure anything and just added the ingredients to my liking. Really good for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were pretty good. I made a couple of changes in the interest of making them more healthful. So in the author's defense, these were not at popular at my house but probably would be if made exactly as recipe calls. I could not find the light veggie cream cheese so I used the Italian Herb Cooking Creme (because I need to use it up). I also reduced the amount of cream cheese to 2 tablespoons total. I made this with the pizza crust, however, I think crescent rolls would be more tasty. We found these a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
i used frozen broccoli and cooked i first. Don't skimp on the amount of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Great way to use leftover frozen veggies in freezer. Best if cream cheese is REALLY soft before spreading on dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
These are super easy and delicious. I like how the pocket can be filled with a variety of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Pretty good. Simple. It tasted about as I expected it to. I think it could use a little more cream cheese. Easy to make. It's not one of my favorites, but I will probably end up making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good. Kids loved. Leave off cream cheese for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States