Chicken and Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a great recipe. Everyone at the meal thought it was wonderful. Instead of marinating it in a 30 gal twist-tie kitchen bag, I used a 40 gal Ziplock bag, then didn't worry about leakage during the marinating/turning process. I then transferred the meat and marinade to a turkey cooking bag and didn't worry about basting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This recipe has been updated by the staff in response to a request by the submitter. We have changed the lemon juice to 4 lemons, juiced. We have changed the mustard to Dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
This is with out a doubt the best of the best. I have a son, who with a lot of friends, do a lot of smoking of meats. I recently acquired a smoker and used this recipe on a turkey. My son said that the turkey was the best he had ever eaten and could not stop eating it. He took home a lot of left overs and told me later that they made the best sandwiches ever. DO NOT miss the opportunity to use this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I originally submitted this recipe several years ago. I now use Dijon which gives a nicer flavor. Also, I use Mrs. Dash as teh herb seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We tried this on turkey and found this marinade to basically taste like straight lemon juice with a few herbs thrown in. I don't think the flavors blend well together. (yes, we followed the recipe to the letter) It was not a keeper in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I have used this recipe several times now with Turkey & Chicken both. Used it last year for Thanksgiving and everyone absolutely loved it. Makes the meat so moist & has such a great flavor. I inject it into my meats (when doing this be careful not to put too much in one spot - it tends to make that area soggy) ... It also helps to strain the herbs, use the marinade juice for injecting & then spread the herbs, etc ... on the outside of the Turkey or Chicken. This recipe is a keepsake in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
I've used this on a whole turkey, a small chicken and even skinless chicken breasts. A keeper. Thanks Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I made 1/2 a recipe and used to marinate 4 chicken breasts that I grilled. Modified slightly as I didn't have all the fresh herbs on hand, but it was still delicious. Will definitely try again according to the recipe on a whole bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I love this recipe but I had to give it 4 stars because it's my opinion that 4 lemons is way too much lemon juice for a 13 lb turkey. Without using 4 lemons, I went with my instinct and used only 2 lemons, and 1 cup of orange juice along with 3-4 tablspoons of raw honey to take away some of the bitterness that the lemons gave. Although the lemons work as a great tenderizer for the turkey, it would've overpowered all of the fresh herbs that I diced, and that would've been a waste. I also added 1/4 cup of diced fresh rosemary which set it off to perfection. I used all of the drippings to make gravy, and everyone said it was the best gravy they ever had! The turkey was very tender and had a great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I used this recipe to marinate two bone-in turkey breasts which I then smoked with hickory chips on low, indirect heat in my gas grill. The breasts marinated for almost 24 hours before grilling, breast side up (never turned or rotated them). The aroma before and after cooking was incredible and I've never received so many compliments... Not one scrap of turkey was left. I'll be doing my Thanksgiving and Christmas turkeys like this from now on. What a winner! Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States