Chicken and Tortellini Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is a very good, basic recipe. I made several changes to the original recipe - that's why I didn't rate it higher. I sautéed the chicken in olive oil and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I added garlic, celery and mushrooms to the veggies. I added Italian seasoning with the chicken broth and I cooked the veggies for a bit to soften them before I added the chicken and the tortellini. I thickened the soup with whole milk and cornstarch, instead of water. With these changes, it was awesome. Next time, I'd probably omit the green beans and add spinach instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I did make some changes. I used 2cups of chicken, carrots and green beans. Also used 4 cups of low sodium chicken stock and 4 cups of no sodium chicken stock. Also added a bunch of Kale. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a very light and tasty stew. I made very few modifications. I added 1 stalk celery, 1 clove garlic to the veggies and rounded the onion to a whole cup. I added some Italian seasoning, salt and pepper to the broth and let all that simmer on low, covered for about an hour. (My veggies were still pretty crunchy before I added the broth.) I substituted 2 lbs refrigerated tortellini for the dry. I let the tortellini and corn starch simmer on low until tortellini was done, then added a little whole cream (about 2-3 Tbsp) after it had finished simmering completely, as you never want to boil cream. Delicious. Served with salad and garlic bread sticks. Also a big hit with the kids. The stew was their favorite thing. Bonus points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Good pasta, chicken and vegetable combo, but thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
GREAT recipe. I've made it often, especially as a way to use leftovers from a roasted chicken. If I don't have tortellini on hand, I've substituted whole wheat couscous. It's a very different, but a nice change. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Hubby & kids liked it, definitely on the rotation. I added some garlic and a dash of Worcester sauce (I don't usually change a recipe I rate but this was just a bit bland for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe that can be modified to your taste, what you have fresh at the time. I usually add fresh carrots, celery and peas to mine as well as shirmp. I have also used both dried and fresh parsley and both are fine. I also use olive oil instead of vegetable oil to make it more healthy. Double or Triple the recipe most of the time to freeze, which it does beautifully. Thanks for adding, we all LOVE this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this was very good! it was absolutely perfect for a cold winter night. the only thing i did differently was pull rotisserie chicken, which probably helped add a lot of flavor as it was lemon-peppered. i also added a little salt and pepper to the vegetables when cooking them over oil. i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
It was ok, kind of bland tasting for me when initially made. So I changed it up a bit-I used precooked chicken strips found in deli aisle (for nites when I REALLY need a quick meal), which saved me a step. I cooked the carrots in pan so I didn't have to boil as long, with onions and some spices (garlic pepper, basil, various ones from the cabinet I experimented with), then I boiled in chicken broth. Before carrots got too tender I added more frozen veggies (broccoli, corn), the chicken, and the tortellini. I added a bit more cornstarc/water mixture to make it a bit thicker. It helped, but I want to try to make more of a cream sauce with this recipe as the backbone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webbfam_moejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was very easy, and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mllakin2605

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States