Chicken and Tomato Stew with Arugula and Cannellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very good and easy to make. The leftovers are great the next day tossed over baby Arugula for a cold pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was delicious and will become a regular of mine. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it. I love one pot dishes that are so satisfying. I did change a few things. Cooked pasta in boullion like a reviewer suggested, substituted 1/4 cup olive oil for 1 tablespoon and remainder chicken broth (lower calorie), used spinach instead of arugula (what I had on hand), and added capers because we love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I really liked this recipe as written but found that it needed a little additional salt. The second time I made this I changed the 1 cup of white wine to 1/2 cup of white wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth and found the end result just perfect! Thanks, this is delicious and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This is very flavorful. I added a chopped shallot with the garlic, cooked the pasta in bouillon and added a little chicken broth. We ate the whole thing in one night! Excellent, one of our favorite recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Very good! I used navy beans instead of cannellini beans and they worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilyv
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This js a great recipe and I customized it to be VEGAN. I did make modifications simply because of what I had on hand. Firstly, I had a creamy roasted red/yellow/orange peppper sauce that needed to be used. So, I added a can of diced tomatoes to that, along with half a yellow onion, roasted garlic and garlic salt, marsala wine, arugula and Italian parsley and vegan rice macaroni. Whether you eat meat or not, this is a great recipe that is easily adaptable to all tastes. The fresh arugula and Italian parsley really made the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This actually turned out to be a pretty tasty dish. Like many of the other reviewers, I tend to doctor recipes (1. because I do not always have what's called for and 2. just because I can.) The meat marinade I used was about 1/4 cup of lemon juice for a double batch (1 medium lemon, juiced). My sherry was wine, so I chose to use the sherry and red wine vinegar. I doubled the red pepper flakes. I used about 4 cloves of garlic, because more really is better, and then omitted the wine from the sauce mixture. I chose to use chicken broth and again the red wine vinegar in place of the sherry. My only bean option was small white beans, and the basil was limited to some frozen cubes of basil. Fresh may have been a bit more flavorful, but it worked out great. I simmered the liquids and the basil, tomatoes and beans for about 10-15 minutes to cook off some of the liquid. Just for good measure, I included 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp thyme, and 1 tsp red pepper flakes, salt and fresh ground pepper in the simmer. It did taste a bit spicy, but was perfect once everything came together. I did not have arugula on hand, so spinach took its place. It was a great combination, very tasty, a little bit of spice and overall a great weeknight meal that came together fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yummy. This wasn't much like a stew. I had to add extra liquid just to keep it from being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed the recipe. I didn't use the wine. Also, I added extra pepper flake because we really like them. Otherwise held to the recipe. Everyone really enjoyed. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Easy to make and obviously low fat. But I really didn't care too much for it. The only change I made was using Dandelion greens instead of Arugula because my market didn't have any. Seemed to make much more than 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States