Chicken and Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The flavors go together really well. The only reason I knocked off a star is because I think the temperature needs to be upped to 375 F. After an hour at 350, my chicken was still pink and the sweet potatoes were raw. I'm not sure why I didn't raise the temperature. I normally bake chicken breasts at 375 and sweet potatoes at 400. Nothing seems to happen at 350. Maybe it's my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a very good and satisfying recipe. After reading reviews, I sauteed small chopped sweet potato, celery and apple in 1T olive oil. Then added spices when the vegetables/fruit were getting soft. Placed in baking dish. After that, browned 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and then put on top. Added about 1 cup of chicken broth and cooked at 365 degrees for 45 minutes and it was done. You definitely need the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used four bone-in chicken thighs, splash of apple juice, dried cranberries and a shallot instead of the onion. Everything else in the recipe was kept as is. Sometimes you just have to work with what's in the pantry and freezer. Turned out fantastic! Next time I will cook it in the crockpot and make some stuffing for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very very good. I didn't have an apple so I went with out it. I was worried that the veggies or chicken would be dry but both were excellent. I will make this again for sure. Oh and my son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalena Shea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good and so easy. I used butternut squash because that's what I had on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this in the slow cooker with boneless chicken breasts. Overall, it was pretty good, but I found the ginger overpowered the other spices. I might use pumpkin pie spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I found that this was turning out very dry so I added a bit of chicken stock and plopped the whole thing into the pressure cooker. After some time in there, the sweet potatoes and apples came out so wonderfully soft! I will be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
DH & I agree that we did not care for this recipe. Chicken was tender but had no flavor. I cooked it in my slow cooker on low for 7 hrs., using boneless-skinless chicken breasts. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Well this was a fine dinner. I am a huge sweet potato fan and enjoyed the flavor with the chicken. I did saute the potatoes with some celery in olive oil for a bit before adding to the dish. Remember to pound the chicken pretty flat so it will cook faster. Mine took 45 minutes on 375. I added a can of chicken broth so things didn't get too dry. But the chicken really lacked flavor for me. Needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was very good, I doubled the recipe and baked it for about 1.25 hours at 350. Was not dry at all and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States