Chicken and Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Well this was a fine dinner. I am a huge sweet potato fan and enjoyed the flavor with the chicken. I did saute the potatoes with some celery in olive oil for a bit before adding to the dish. Remember to pound the chicken pretty flat so it will cook faster. Mine took 45 minutes on 375. I added a can of chicken broth so things didn't get too dry. But the chicken really lacked flavor for me. Needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
350 degrees and 45 minutes with uncooked sweet potatoes (I have nevered heard of such a thing), up to 400 degrees and 1 hour into it and would not eat this. Looking to improvise but do not follow this recipe. 1st receipe I have found on this website that is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Mizerak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I was disappointed with the recipe. The spice combination was really good, and gave the chicken a nice flavor. But I have to agree with some of the other reviews- the whole dish was extremely dry after cooking. I baked it for 45 minutes, and the sweet potatoes were not cooked, at all. Of course that might be a problem with my oven, but I still don't think I would try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a very good and satisfying recipe. After reading reviews, I sauteed small chopped sweet potato, celery and apple in 1T olive oil. Then added spices when the vegetables/fruit were getting soft. Placed in baking dish. After that, browned 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and then put on top. Added about 1 cup of chicken broth and cooked at 365 degrees for 45 minutes and it was done. You definitely need the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Sorry but I just don't agree with the reviews on this one. I only used 3/4 tsp of the ginger and it was SO overpowering on the apples. I used boneless skinless chx breasts and I adjusted cooking time for that difference but the chicken was so bland since it's just placed on top of the veggies and there's no seasoning or sauce for it. My family took 2 bites and we opted to have something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was very good, I doubled the recipe and baked it for about 1.25 hours at 350. Was not dry at all and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this in the slow cooker with boneless chicken breasts. Overall, it was pretty good, but I found the ginger overpowered the other spices. I might use pumpkin pie spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and the whole dish was too dry the chicken wasn't cooked enough. I ended up adding chicken stock and cooking it a little longer to moisten the entire dish and cook the chicken all the way. It was a nice seasonal dish but I probably won't make it again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I found that this was turning out very dry so I added a bit of chicken stock and plopped the whole thing into the pressure cooker. After some time in there, the sweet potatoes and apples came out so wonderfully soft! I will be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The flavors go together really well. The only reason I knocked off a star is because I think the temperature needs to be upped to 375 F. After an hour at 350, my chicken was still pink and the sweet potatoes were raw. I'm not sure why I didn't raise the temperature. I normally bake chicken breasts at 375 and sweet potatoes at 400. Nothing seems to happen at 350. Maybe it's my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States