Chicken and Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a very good and satisfying recipe. After reading reviews, I sauteed small chopped sweet potato, celery and apple in 1T olive oil. Then added spices when the vegetables/fruit were getting soft. Placed in baking dish. After that, browned 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and then put on top. Added about 1 cup of chicken broth and cooked at 365 degrees for 45 minutes and it was done. You definitely need the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Sorry but I just don't agree with the reviews on this one. I only used 3/4 tsp of the ginger and it was SO overpowering on the apples. I used boneless skinless chx breasts and I adjusted cooking time for that difference but the chicken was so bland since it's just placed on top of the veggies and there's no seasoning or sauce for it. My family took 2 bites and we opted to have something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was very good, I doubled the recipe and baked it for about 1.25 hours at 350. Was not dry at all and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this in the slow cooker with boneless chicken breasts. Overall, it was pretty good, but I found the ginger overpowered the other spices. I might use pumpkin pie spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and the whole dish was too dry the chicken wasn't cooked enough. I ended up adding chicken stock and cooking it a little longer to moisten the entire dish and cook the chicken all the way. It was a nice seasonal dish but I probably won't make it again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I found that this was turning out very dry so I added a bit of chicken stock and plopped the whole thing into the pressure cooker. After some time in there, the sweet potatoes and apples came out so wonderfully soft! I will be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The flavors go together really well. The only reason I knocked off a star is because I think the temperature needs to be upped to 375 F. After an hour at 350, my chicken was still pink and the sweet potatoes were raw. I'm not sure why I didn't raise the temperature. I normally bake chicken breasts at 375 and sweet potatoes at 400. Nothing seems to happen at 350. Maybe it's my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very very good. I didn't have an apple so I went with out it. I was worried that the veggies or chicken would be dry but both were excellent. I will make this again for sure. Oh and my son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalena Shea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used four bone-in chicken thighs, splash of apple juice, dried cranberries and a shallot instead of the onion. Everything else in the recipe was kept as is. Sometimes you just have to work with what's in the pantry and freezer. Turned out fantastic! Next time I will cook it in the crockpot and make some stuffing for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good and so easy. I used butternut squash because that's what I had on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States