Chicken and Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used 2 chicken quarters and took a few suggestions like adding chicken broth and sautéing the potatoes and apples. I covered and cooked for 45min at 350 and it was no where near done. I removed the cover and upped the temp to 400 and it still wasn't done for another 30-40 min. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre522

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was quick, easy and delicious. I tossed the veggies with a little olive oil before baking. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was ok. It smelled wonderful baking but its missing something, just cant put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snickers9584

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I liked the flavors, but wanted something a little more savory so I made some changes... I didn't have an apple, so I used a pear. Also, I added a little bit of curry powder to add a different flavor. The potatoes were still a little underdone, so next time I will up the temp. Also, though the chicken was moist, the inside was very bland. I think I will add some apple juice and the seasonings and marinade the chicken for a little bit before I bake it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Great flavor, but the chicken turned out very dry. It also took quite a bit longer to cook than was stated. 45 mins. after baking and the potatoes and apples were still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
So disappointed. It looked good on paper, but 1 1/2 hours later, the potatoes were crunchy! The chicken was dry...it was terrible. I am learning to cook and thought this recipe would be a treat for my boyfriend. So sad...DO NOT FOLLOW THIS RECIPE! Wish I had read the other reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Didn't have an apple, but the sweet potatos were delicious. Subbed 1/2t allspice for nutmeg. Used seasoned salt and pepper on chicken. Baked covered for 30 minutes, then poured some melted butter and honey over the chicken and baked uncovered for 40 minutes, letting the skin crisp. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Well this was a fine dinner. I am a huge sweet potato fan and enjoyed the flavor with the chicken. I did saute the potatoes with some celery in olive oil for a bit before adding to the dish. Remember to pound the chicken pretty flat so it will cook faster. Mine took 45 minutes on 375. I added a can of chicken broth so things didn't get too dry. But the chicken really lacked flavor for me. Needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
350 degrees and 45 minutes with uncooked sweet potatoes (I have nevered heard of such a thing), up to 400 degrees and 1 hour into it and would not eat this. Looking to improvise but do not follow this recipe. 1st receipe I have found on this website that is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I was disappointed with the recipe. The spice combination was really good, and gave the chicken a nice flavor. But I have to agree with some of the other reviews- the whole dish was extremely dry after cooking. I baked it for 45 minutes, and the sweet potatoes were not cooked, at all. Of course that might be a problem with my oven, but I still don't think I would try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States