Chicken and Stuffing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this last night & thought it was pretty good. It is easy & was well received by the family. I used a rotisserie chicken, & since I was out of cream of celery, used cream of mushroom w/ garlic instead. It looked like way too much liquid after mixing all the wet ingredients, but the stuffing soaked it right up & it was creamy & good. Paired with fresh vegetables, the empty plates told the tale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe was good but it annoyed me because nothing is sold in the proportions that it asks you to use: Stove Top stuffing comes in 6 oz or 12 oz. Evap milk comes in 5 oz or 12 oz. Chicken broth comes in cans of about 2 cups. So, I did make some changes. First, I wasn't about to cook a whole chicken for this recipe, so I cooked 1.5 lbs of chicken breast in wide pan with just enough water to cover. I brought to boil, simmered for 10 minutes, then turned off the heat, covered and let it stand for 15 minutes more. I cut it up into small pieces. I used the full 12 oz of stuffing, the full can of chicken broth and light cream instead of evaporated milk, since it comes in a one cup container. I added 10 oz of frozen broccoli and just mixed everything together before putting in the baking dish. I thought it came out great; the stuffing was light and fluffy, not soggy and I didn't find it salty like other reviewers. Next time I will wait to add the broccoli in the last 10 minutes, though, because it got mushy. I think with these proportions, it might even be able to support the full 12 oz can of evaporated milk, so I will try that next time. I'm sure this would be fabulous with sauteed onion and celery, but it would turn an easy recipe into something a little more time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Hubby loved this. Halved recipe and added sautéed celery, onion, bell pepper, and some mushrooms. Used own cream soup mixes. Served with green salad and cranberry sauce - - - all in all a quick, simple, no-fuss get it on the table top meal. Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! After making it several times here are the changes I have made for a easy meal. 2 - 12.5 oz cans chunk chicken, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can cream of mushroom, 1 - 12 oz can evaporated milk, 2 - 6 oz boxes of chicken flavored stuffing and 1 1/4 cups chicken broth. I mix it all in a bowl and put it into a 9 x 13 pan to cook for 45 minutes at 350. Sometimes we throw in a can of mushrooms too. It is not a soupy mixture at all. Everyone in my family absolutely loves it, thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I am a big fan of both chicken and stuffing, but I did not care for this recipe. I prepared it according to the recipe. Definitely will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
chop onion & Celery into stuffing mix. season chicken with favorite seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teenawesley
Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
The ultimate comfort food! I bet this is even better when you boil your own chicken broth like the recipe calls for, but I cheated and it was still great. I pre-baked some chicken breasts and cut it up for the meat, and I used Swanson chicken broth. I also sprinkled some shredded cheese on top (why not?). It was a hit, and will give the two of us a ton of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe gets 4 stars for ease and simplicity. However, it does need sautéed onions and celery added. I used a 12 oz. bag of stuffing and added a little more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
THIS was easy and delicious...The only thing I did differently was I started with poaching the chicken (but had to boil it more anyway!) I put chopped onion and herbs de provence, salt and pepper in the water I cooked the chicken in. I used Pepperidge Farm herbs and spices stuffing mix. Very delicious! (Comfort food!) Creamy, tasty. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
YES! Tastes great as is or with embellishments. I added celery and some sage, pepper, marjoram, basil, and thyme because I like lots of spice flavor. I used a reduced sodium cream of chicken and a regular cream of celery. If I could have found reduced sodium celery soup, I would recommend that, too. For me, it's just a tad salty and I don't tend to add extra when using canned and boxed ingredients. I do recommend this and will make it again with other reduced sodium ingredients if I can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States