Chicken and Sliders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was such an amazing comfort food! I did throw a couple of carrots in the stock but other than that kept it the same. I didn't have any issues with the noodles they turned out perfect and I also didn't need to add any additional flour to the broth it thickened up just right. So tasty certainly worth the trouble of making the noodles and really it wasn't that much trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a recipe that my Meme made and past onto my mother who in turn past onto me. In order to add a little more chicken flavour add some chicken soup base, make sure the noodles are rolled out thin so they are not left chewy or doughy. We served our sliders over mashed potatoes. Very good. This is also called "Poussin and sliders"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is very similar to our Sunday family dinner, that included aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. We gathered at my grandparents home and everyone brought a portion of the meal (several families providing the beef). I am assuming that they used beef because my grandparents had a diary farm? My grandmother did not use an egg, but I think I will try it next time I make them. She taught me how to make these and started with some (a coffee mug as a measure) of the beef broth (and I add garlic my stock), in a large bowl. She then sprinkled flour over the broth, saying "you need to let the flour breathe." We continued adding flour while stirring after each addition. Once it starts making into a ball (Kneading towards the end),roll it out very thin and cut into 3" by 3" pieces. The broth will need water added and bring to a boil. Drop the sliders into the broth, cover the pan and simmer for 20 minutes. She always said not to remove the cover or the sliders would be doughy, not sure if this make a difference. Now that the weather is turning cold again, I am craving them and will have them for Sunday dinner with my granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
For the sliders, our family uses 1cup flower, 1 egg, 1/2 tsp baking powder per 2 people being served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
My mother made something similiar except instead of noodles she made spatzel. Much lighter texture than the noodles, and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
the chicken and broth are both very yummy. I think I probably did not roll out the noodles thin enough. They were very strange and not noodle-y at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My family is french canadian and we have made this is the exact recipe that we use too except we also add carrots to it!! It is absolutely a delicious, comforting version of chicken soup that has been in my family for a least 4 generations that I know of and I look forward to a big bowl of it EVERYTIME it is served or when I make it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josann312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melvindale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe is simple, but very time consuming. Nevertheless, my family loved it. I added spices of my own to flavor the chicken broth the way I like it. It didn't turn out as thick as I would have liked it to be, but I had some rice in the fridge so I just poured it on that. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is similar to the recipe my grandmother used and it has now come down to the fifth generation. My kids always want to have this for Christmas. No one is worried about turkey, vegetables or anything else - as long as we have "Chicken potpie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States