Chicken and Shrimp Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Excellent recipe! Although some previous reviews suggested to double the sauce because there isn't enough, I found that I would actually need to thicken it with some cornstarch and parmesean cheese because it was too watery (this may have also been because I dumped the wine saute into the pasta when all the meats and veggies were done cooking?). Oh well, I guess it depends on your personal preferences. I also added 1/4 cup of chopped green and red bell peppers and 1/4 cup fresh sliced mushrooms about 1-2 minutes before the chicken was done. Mmmm good. My daughter who is 5 years old had THREE helpings. Two thumbs up LT! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
With a few minor changes, I changed this recipe from a 3 star to a 5 star. I found the original sauce recipe too thin. Next time I will make a reux first and then add the milk and cream. Also I would brown the chicken first in the olive oil and garlic, add a touch of salt, remove from pan and then deglaze with the wine. When reheating the sauce in the now deglazed pan, I added 1 1/2 cups shredded parmesan cheese which added alot of flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This was so easy and my husband loved it. Next time though I'll use a little less pasta - maybe half the package instead of a full pound. I'll add veggies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This was delicious!! I used only chicken and omitted the nutmeg--nutmeg with chicken didn't appeal to me at all. I also reduced the amount of wine to 1/3 of a cup and it was the perfect amount. Just one note, if you like to soak the sauce up with bread, as my husband does, the amounts called for in this recipe aren't enough. It just barely coats the pasta. I doubled the cream sauce and it made the perfect amount. This one will go in my permanent file!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe tastes fabulous! I used fat free Land O' Lakes half & half instead of the heavy whipping cream, which made it thinner (added a little bit of cornstarch, as previous suggested). I also cooked the chicken in the olive oil before adding the wine (Pink Catawba was all I had). Didn't bother cooking the shrimp separately since I used a bag of cocktail shrimp instead; I just threw in the de-tailed shrimp, 4 oz mushrooms and 1 1/2 cup broccoli with the chicken. (Next time I'll use a full 8 oz of mushrooms and 2-3 cups of broccoli.) And I used farfalle since I'm not a huge fan of long stringy pastas. Added parmesean to the mix--yummy! I'm sending this one to my mom! (My colleagues all looked jealous of my lunch today.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
My family loved this recipe. I also doubled the sauce ingredients and used light cream instead of heavy whipping cream. I had to thicken it slightly with cornstarch. (2 Tablespoons)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Well I have hung onto this recipe forever and finally decided to make it - I wish I had just left it though! Just as others have done, I changed the recipe a lot. I started off by sauteeing the cut up chicken and garlic in some olive oil; meanwhile in a separate pot, I made a roux out of flour and butter. I added the milk and cream (I wanted to use chicken stock in place of the milk, but I was out). Once the chicken was nearly done, I deglazed the pan with 1/4 cup of wine and then added the shrimp. Once the shrimp was cooked, I added a big splash of wine and the white sauce which I'd also added the seasoning to. We served this over pasta and the end result was a "ok" but not the quality that we're used to eating, we found it bland and boring. I advise finding a different recipe if you want a chicken/shrimp pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I had to make a few changes (chicken stock for the wine) and no shrimp, but it was excellent. I would use less pasta next time as I had to add more cream so it would not be so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
very good!don't understand why/how you saute chicken w/olive oil if your put in the 3/4 c wine with the chicken...thereby boiling chicken in wine,later after cooking/removing shrimp need "more wine" to "deglaze pan" it doesn't glaze....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this dish with a few modifications as suggested by others. I used 1% milk and fat free half & half to shave calories, with cornstarch to thicken. I cooked the chicken in olive oil and garlic, cooked the shrimp next, then added the wine last. I also added red and green bell peppers to the dish. I also used more seasoning than directed for my family's taste. The dish turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States