Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
it was ok but far too spicy... if you are someone who doesn't do well with spicy foods I highly recommend useing mild italian sausage instead of hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My husband LOVED this dish, as did I. He is a touring musician and has eaten the greatest foods all over the world and he actually came back for seconds and then finished it off when I went to work. HIGHLY recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyThomson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is a good versatile recipe. There's room for lots of variation. Im from Louisiana and it reminded me of jambalaya but with pasta instead of rice. I used some left over chicken andapple sausage but otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out great. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is my go-to meal whenever I don't know what to make for dinner. I did make some of my own changes and I've noticed I continue to make changes-throwing in what I have and making due with what I'm out of. We only use sausage, my grocer carries sweet and hot Italian sausage in 1lb bulk packages. I roll it into small balls and cook it thoroughly before adding canned tomatoes. Sometimes they're crushed, other times diced, a few times just a can of sauce. Occassionally I'll find that I've purchased some diced tomatoes seasoned with basil and oregano or some other variety of spices. I alway skip the rosemary as we aren't fans, but I add an Italian spice blend, oregano, red pepper flakes, and sometimes onion. I always leave the garlic in after I saute it in the oil, we like the flavor and texture. This is definitely a recipe I've committed to memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
needs a sauce of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Tasty-quick dinner for those nights when I get home and just don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is awesome. By far my favorite easy meal to make. I used white wine instead of red and didn't use the chicken because I thought the sausage would be enough and I was right! Love love love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Luckily I read other reviews before I made this so I knew that the sauce could be a little thin and that I shouldn't use all of the macaroni. Also, I personally like my food with a lot of flavor so I added more of the rosemary and basil as well as some thyme, oregano and cayenne pepper for heat. Ading some tomato paste to help thicken the sauce and only about 3/4 of the bowties, this came out great! The result was absolutely delicious that I've already made a second time (and this time I add more of the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste and wine and was able to add the extra pasta so that we would have leftovers). Just add a little extra spice and some tomato paste and this meal is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This dish is awesome! It's one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I really liked this - I followed the recipe almost exactly but added a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and used smoked turkey sausage. I added the 1/2 cup of cream like some of the previous reviewers suggested. And, finally, I wilted some fresh spinach into the mix and it was a wonderful addition! I highly recommend this recipe, however, I didn't give it 5 stars only b/c of the added ingredients. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States