Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
great recipe, family loved it. I did add tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Loved this! I used spicy pork sausage, fresh tomatoes and mini penne pasta. So good! I did not use all the noodles because it would have been dry. Used fresh basil and rosemary both. Yum, yum, yum! Very filling too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great! I added a little oregano instead of rosemary because I did not have any... and as it was simmering I added some red pepper flakes. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Just made this in advance of dinner tonight. Delicious! Try making once as the recipe states before adding more tomato. The consistency reminds me of pasta fazul but with chicken/sausage instead of beans. For those using pork sausage you also can take that opportunity to pour off half the fat before continuing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Okay, so I essentially made this sauce as written, with two exceptions - a bit of balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar (very good, but don't overdo it) and a lean Italian pork link made by a local market. Oh, and I grilled the meats, then brought them in and finished the sauce. I wanted to be fair in rating this, but didn't have red wine vinegar and we are on a grilling kick. :) The rating is based on this. Ultimately, because I like to play, I added tomato paste, Garlic/Basil/Oregano seasoned diced tomatoes, beefed up the seasonings - onion and garlic powders, diced onion, minced garlic in addition to the sliced, and a dried tomato/basil/garlic seasoning (one of the Mrs. Dash combos, I think it is). Also added 1/4 c heavy whipping cream to a double recipe (would have been fine with Lite, but didn't have it). I left the meat and cream out of a portion and added some grilled zucchini for a vegan in the house. It was enjoyed by everyone present. A good, versatile recipe and much appreciated, Patricia. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was delicious! I changed a few things because I was too lazy to go to the store. All I had on hand was a can Italian stewed tomatoes, so I put them in the blender, but left them slightly chunky for texture. I didn't use any oil since my sausage produces enough on its own. I sauteed the sausage for a minute, then added the garlic and a little leftover chicken from last nights' dinner. I poured in the sauce and followed the rest of the directions almost to a T. The only complaint I have is completely my own fault- All I had on hand was this really cheap, gross red wine. It gave the sauce a really weird flavor, so I threw in about a half a cup of Ragu and a pinch of sugar. I added cornstarch to it as the other reviewers suggested to make the sauce thicker. We ate it over Linguine noodles. I can't wait to make this again! My boyfriend raved. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daytripperrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delicious, easy and reasonably healthy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Delicious. Didn't have any red wine but threw some balsamic vinegar into the sauce pan instead and still tasted awesome. It's a good reheat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Pud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This dish is absolutely fantastic! I did make some changes, though. First of all, I used 6 links of spicy italian chicken sausage and 3 chicken breasts. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil along with a whole diced yellow onion and did not remove any of it. After I browned the chicken (which I liberally seasoned with salt and pepper) and sausage, I added one whole chopped zucchini, about 3/4 of a chopped red bell pepper, a handful of chopped sundried tomatoes, and two chopped artichoke hearts. I added the wine first and let it reduce a bit to make that wine flavor more intense and then added a large can of diced tomatoes (not drained). I reduced the sauce for probably 40 minutes and it was still thin, so I added a little cornstarch and water to thicken it a bit. I finished it with a heavy drizzle of heavy cream and chopped fresh basil. I forwent the rosemary. If you want to hide veggies from your kids or a family member who doesn't like them, in a way that they can't really be tasted, this is it! I would have included green pepper, but didn't have any on hand. It made a HUGE portion, but I froze the remainder for a later meal! It had the perfect blend of cream and spice from the sausage. A+ recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I think Cheri826's input made this recipe good. I followed what they did (highly recommend that, especially the cream and cooking the sausage and chicken separate). I also added a bit of spice. Red Pepper gave it a nice bite. Not too much. Corn Starch was also a must. It's a good base recipe, but I think it definitely needs some alterations to really get it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States