Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was a very good recipe. I did not have crushed tomatoes, I used 4 fresh tomatoes and cut them up and used about a cup of sauce, I would like to try it with the crushed tomatoes next time and maybe cut chicken up into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was delicioius and the only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I changed a lot. I used a garden rotini pasta instead of farfella, 1 giant chicken breast instead of two, 1 lb of polska kielbasa instead of spicy italian sausage, 2 cloves minced garlic instead of whole garlic, a small jar of spaghetti sauce instead of diced tomatoes, 1/2c of Chianti red wine, and 1t Sage, 1t Thyme, 2t Rosemary in addition to the 2t Basil. I also added 1/2 of a sweet onion and 1/2c cream. I lightly sauted the garlic and onion before adding the sausage and chicken, but I didn't remove them while I lightly browned the meat. I added the spices and cream in the last 10 minutes of simmering. It turned out great! The flavor was amazing, even when warmed back up. I will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This will be the second time I made this. I liked it the first time but thought it was a bit bland... so I added chopped onions while cooking the chicken and turkey sausage and I also added oregano along with the basil, gave the dish a little more flavor. it is a very nice change on a pasta dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My fiancé loved this. I added onion powder, oregano, and minced garlic. I also topped it with grated parmesan/romano cheese. The hot sausage was delish. I also love how i need red wine for it because it gives me an excuse to buy some haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was so delicious! I didn't use red wine because I didn't have any nor did I want to go shopping! Any who, I used tomato sauce, penne pasta and my own personal seasoning. I will def make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My family loved this meal!! my husband is from New Orleans so we always have sausage on hand from there! One of the easiest meals to make especially if you are just starting out with cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very Good, I only used the sausage and also added a little heavy cream. I also used rotel instead of plain tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a 5 in my book, the sauce is so tasty that I will try it with other variations such as shrimp, mussels, and a white fish, like a fish stew. I used Italian pork sausage and a cabernet wine which was unbelievable. Try it using the original recipe and then get creative! Thumbs up Patricia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Stream, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Tried it; loved it except the chicken can totally be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States