Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Easy AND delicious! The only change I made was to accommodate my youngest son who does not like spicey. I used sweet sausage and added red pepper to individual servings. Will definitely have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Wow, this dish was amazing. I have tried many recipes from this website, but this one has been the best. I cooked the meats all the way through then added to the sauce mixture. I would love to supply a picture, but my husband has finished off all the left-overs...which also heated up great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
My family raved about this, I added freshly grated parmesan cheese to the top. I also used andouille and regular sausage to mix it up a bit. My only suggestion...next time I will use dark thigh meat in place of the breast meat because the breast meat was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I made a few modifications but I still gave it 5 stars because the changes were just my likings. I used garlic and cheese sausages (we don't like spicy or fennel). My method for the meat is to brown the chicken and sausage completley in the garlic & olive oil. Cooking it now this way prevents the meat from becoming overcooked during the boiling and simmering process when making the sauce. Remove the meat and set aside than go on with making the sauce in the same skillet. I used red wine and chopped about 5 roma tomatoes (I don't like canned tomatoes). and let it simmer a bit. Once the tomatoes reduced a bit, I added a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce along with salt, pepper and 1/2 cup light cream (I got that tip fom other reviewers). I simmered the sauce for about 20 minutes, added the meat in and simmered another 20 minutes. I than added the pasta and a lot of chopped basil (we love basil) and the dish was very very tasty. I am not sure what people are doing when they say it comes out bland. This is very flavorful! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Editor's Correction: The extra penne pasta has been deleted from the ingredient list. Sorry for the confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Must be an error - has two pastas - one 12 oz. and one 16 oz. That's a lot of pasta!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I have a question...why does the recipe call for bowties (at the beginning of the ingredient list) and then penne (at the end)? Do you use both pastas?? Or is this a misprint?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
bravo! This was great! It was easy, my husband loved it and kids loved it. Will definately make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
A must try. I only made a few changes based on other reviews. Since I don't like chunks of tomato, I used spaghetti sauce from a jar and just added a little red wine to get that flavor. I cooked the meat in the sauce much longer, about double the time. I added dried onion mid way through. I added cream as one reviewer suggested and I liked what that did to the texture. We will definately have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I didn't like this at all. Thought it was just blah...my husband thought it was just OK. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States