Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was okay, but not great. The chicken turned a wierd grey color after cooking in the wine. This didn't bother my husband, but I found it off-putting. The sauce was lacking, so I added some more spices (red pepper flakes, Italian seasoning). I'd skimp on the rosemary next time, for sure. And I'd add a pat of butter at the end. Also, if you like your pasta with a lot of sauce, use less pasta than this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was very good, although I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes. The sauce ended up being too thin so next time I will be sure to use the crushed tomatoes instead. This is a very tasty low fat, low calorie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was wonderful and very easy to make. I used chicken broth to thin it out some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is a hearty but quickly prepared pasta dinner that tasted like I put a lot more effort into cooking than I did. I love the flavors of sausage and chicken together, and thought it was great to use turkey sausage instead of pork sausage for the sake of good health. I used a little bit of tomato paste to thicken my sauce, and doubled everything so we'd have plenty of leftovers. I added several other seasonings including a bit of marjoram, oregano, onion powder, sugar (to cut the salty taste of canned tomato), and a pinch of allspice - all of which made this sauce taste delicious and slow cooked. I also used ziti with lines instead of bowties - we don't like farfalle much. Everything was delicious and everyone's looking forward to taking leftovers to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was really good. I halfed the pasta and meat so there was more sauce, which I like for dipping my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I read through the reviews. I only used a chicken breast and a 1/2 and a whole pound of the spicy turkey sausage. I used a T of garlic. I sauteed the garlic. Added the chicken and sausage. Cooked until done. Took meat out. Used 28 oz crushed tomatoe sauce, 1/2 cup red wine, 1 T italian seasoning and S & P to taste. Simmered, added meat and simmered for another 20 minutes. Added 1/2 cup cream with 5 minutes to go. Spooned sauce over noodles. Topped with parmesan cheese. Yum! You could use a jar of spaghetti sauce with a splash of wine if in a hurry. Very good for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Since my Husband is not to crazy about the breast of chicken, I use the skinless short thigh of the chicken. He loves it, so I can make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe is great. It's easy not to time consuming and taste's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I added mushrooms, used stuffed ravioli, and just sausage and it was wonderful!!!! Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this for me and my girlfriend one night a few weeks ago. I have lap band surgery, so ground meats are easier to tolerate. Therefore, I made ground chicken meatballs, but it was just as good. Really, I love this recipe and I will eat it again and again. Leftovers aren't good for more than a day or so though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States