Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I followed the suggestions of some of the other reviews, and added some ff half and half instead of cream, some broccoli, spinach and porcini mushrooms. It was flavorful, but the sauce wasn't very thick. I might try this again and simmer for longer. I also added some cornstarch-next time I will use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is sinfully good. A rare treat for us because its really not very healthy. The only thing I do differently is I do NOT toss with the pasta before serving. We like having leftovers and the noodles just don't hold up with the liquid on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this recently but did not use chicken - just sausage and it worked well. Did add cream at the end as suggested by others which I feel it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dphazelwood
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
fantastic! easy to make and very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dphazelwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Easy AND delicious! The only change I made was to accommodate my youngest son who does not like spicey. I used sweet sausage and added red pepper to individual servings. Will definitely have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Wow, this dish was amazing. I have tried many recipes from this website, but this one has been the best. I cooked the meats all the way through then added to the sauce mixture. I would love to supply a picture, but my husband has finished off all the left-overs...which also heated up great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
My family raved about this, I added freshly grated parmesan cheese to the top. I also used andouille and regular sausage to mix it up a bit. My only suggestion...next time I will use dark thigh meat in place of the breast meat because the breast meat was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I made a few modifications but I still gave it 5 stars because the changes were just my likings. I used garlic and cheese sausages (we don't like spicy or fennel). My method for the meat is to brown the chicken and sausage completley in the garlic & olive oil. Cooking it now this way prevents the meat from becoming overcooked during the boiling and simmering process when making the sauce. Remove the meat and set aside than go on with making the sauce in the same skillet. I used red wine and chopped about 5 roma tomatoes (I don't like canned tomatoes). and let it simmer a bit. Once the tomatoes reduced a bit, I added a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce along with salt, pepper and 1/2 cup light cream (I got that tip fom other reviewers). I simmered the sauce for about 20 minutes, added the meat in and simmered another 20 minutes. I than added the pasta and a lot of chopped basil (we love basil) and the dish was very very tasty. I am not sure what people are doing when they say it comes out bland. This is very flavorful! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Editor's Correction: The extra penne pasta has been deleted from the ingredient list. Sorry for the confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Must be an error - has two pastas - one 12 oz. and one 16 oz. That's a lot of pasta!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States