Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Easy, tasty and beautiful to look at. This one's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coastie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Not enough sauce and not very much flavor. I wasn't thrilled - neither was my husband. It wasn't terrible, but nothing exciting to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is easy to make, but isn't very exciting for my family. I've tried it a few times exactly as instructed, and it is eaten, but no one touches the leftovers or asks me to make it again. This last time was probably THE last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I used mild Italian sausage, doubled all ingredients and put about 1/2 cup of heavy cream. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
We (husband, teenager & younger kids) loved this! We used spicy ground pork sausage instead of the turkey sausage so it was a little on spicy side. It was even good reheated for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkochevar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is definetely a hearty meal! I did change it around just a litte. Instead of just 1 lb. of sausage I used the whole pack (1.24 lbs.) because I hate to throw away food. To accomodate that we used the whole 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, doubled the dried rosemary and the fresh basil and added 1 tsp. of dried oregano. That way we avoided some the complaint of previous reviews of not having enought sauce (something my husband has complained about in other recipes). Final verdict...my husband loved it! It was so cold last night and this was the perfect meal to serve. We ate it with garlic bread but crusty sourdough would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This pasta dish is delicious and very easy to make. It needed a little more liquid than was called for so I doubled the tomatoes and red wine. A recipe to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My husband and daughter liked it, I think it was OK but has potential with some adjustments. I used pork sausage and chicken...next time I start the cooking the sausage first and then add the chicken to prevent it from drying out. I'll also make twice the sauce...I used 1 12oz box of Barilla pasta but it seemed to absorb almost all of the sauce. I added more seasoning...it was a bit bland for my taste. But too be fair , I had to use dried basil instead of fresh. I added a jar of roasted red peppers too. I did like the mix of red wine and crushed tomatoes. It was pretty easy and I liked the versatility, I think this would be great on a crusty roll. I'll definitely make it again and try some different seasonings. Thanks Patricia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
very good, added other Italian seasoning and crushed red peppers for a kick. almost like pizza sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'd give it 3, the family would vote for 4-5 (kinda dry for my liking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berlyanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States