Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I get that it's supposed to be a thin sauce, but this really didn't do anything for me. Next time, I'll probably add a big can of crushed tomatoes instead of small...maybe in addition to small. ...On second tasting, the chicken is really bland. Wouldn't recommend this recipe without some serious changes (marinating chicken and making the pieces smaller, maybe?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Liked it a lot. Going to skip the chicken next time. It didn't add anything for us. Also, skipped the rosemary, not my favorite herb. Added dried oregano. Really, really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very Tasty! My whole family loved it. They all wanted seconds AND to take some for lunch the next day but it was all gone in less than an hour! I'll make a bigger batch next time. I did modify the recipe a bit. I used Penne and sauteed the chicken and sausage with garlic, but I left the garlic in. I added a 6.5 oz can of mushrooms (drained) and 1/2 a cup of Half & Half. Also added some chili powder to give it a little kick (we like spicy). It was delicious, but next time I'll add more crushed tomatoes as it was a bit too dry for my taste...and maybe some red pepper flakes. All in all an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This dish is really good! The one change I will make next time is to use regular sausage instead of turkey sausage, but that is mainly because my husband doesn't care for the turkey sausage. My 4 year old ate it up. Beware that it does make a huge amount of food. We had a ton of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Terrific! Used chicken and hot italian sausage. Fresh garlic, 1 can diced tomatoes, not drained. (Cooking for 2). Used some cabernet (a nice excuse to enjoy a glass of wine since the bottle is open.) Husband loved, but said to leave out the chicken next time, becuase the sausage was so good and the chicken got lost in the flavor. Will use a mix of hot/sweet italian sausage next time and maybe add some onions to the mix. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This really is a delicious recipe and so easy. I've made it with and without the chicken. It's great both ways. I also use a large can (28oz) of crushed tomatoes as we like it a little saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Adams Katchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
not bad at all. I love that you can really throw anything thing in this and it will still taste great. I'll def be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
My family really liked this! I was suprised with how good it was and how little was in it. We used port wine, and it turned out well. I did season it a little bit w/garlic because it was said to be 'bland' . Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Just finished eating this dish. It was a great success. I used a half pound of Italian sausage. I also used Marsala cooking wine. This added a lot of flavor. Also used fire roasted tomatoes and added some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pine, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I wasn't sure what to expect with this one. I don't often make meals with two different types of meat in them. This was really good. I went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States