Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Momof2
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this with fresh chicken and Colby cheese with the mushroom onion soup!!! #amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My husband liked this dish. I was less excited about it, but it worked for a quick and easy dinner. I added green peas to the recipe and used wild and whole grain brown rice. Also, the only soup I had on hand was a "golden cream mushroom" so that's what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
While it was quick and easy, it did need something to set it off. I tried Garlic powder, salt, pepper and cayenne...but wanted something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Kendrick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great recipe! I never follow a recipe exactly. Lol. I used my rice cooker added my boiled chicken breast chunks to that. I discovered I had no cream of chicken, used mushroom instead and no sodium chicken bullion. I fancied it up by putting it in a 9x13 casserole, shredded cheese on top, baked long enough to melt cheese and reheat the mixture. I added canned corn, my family's favorite. Ta da. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Find another recipe...PLEASE!!! If you are looking for a good chicken and rice recipe, this is NOT it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I grew up eating this and I now make it for my own family. (For a family of four, I'd up this recipe to 4 cups of cooked rice and 2 cans of chicken.) We use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom and add some peas and carrots. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and serve with flaky biscuits. EASY, PEASEY CHICKEN A LA KING :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used 2 bags of boil in a bag white rice, 1 can of chicken, 1 can of cream of celery soup, salt and pepper to taste. This was simple and good! I think using the cream of celery gave it enough flavor. No other spices were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is delicious as it is written and I usually hate it when people fool with a recipe and then critique it, but tonight I did just that. I had mushrooms languishing in the fridge that I needed to use up, so I sauteed them with an onion in butter, added water and cooked the rice in the same pan. Then I added the cream of chicken and canned chicken. I had a quarter of a bag of shredded cheese and my husband doesn't like things too creamy, so I popped the mixture into a casserole dish, topped it with a little cheese, and baked it at 375 for about 20 minutes to crisp up the top. It received rave reviews at our table. I do think next time, I will use cream of mushroom or maybe a mixture of cream of chicken and cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pietrzak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was not a hit at our house. It was OK, but definitely not something we will crave anytime soon. It is very bland -- and we tend to LIKE bland foods. This was too bland even for us. I followed the tips that another person had and I cooked the rice in chicken broth and used an extra can of cream of chicken soup, but it was still not good. It really needs something. It might have been better with veggies thrown in, but then it would've been tough to get some people to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I only gave this three stars because while I enjoyed it, my husband and children didn't like it. I think part of it might have been the instant rice, as they don't care for it much, so maybe next time I'll make it with basmati rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States