Chicken and Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This is my favorite chicken soup to make,it's so easy. I served it tonight with rye bread but sometimes I make biscuts. It's a perfect meal for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I used regular brown rice and added just a little extra water, otherwise I made this exactly like the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
My family loves it. I add basil and thyme, also. I cook the rice separately and also cook noodles. I just put the rice or noodle in the bowl and then put the soup over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
Loved this soup...added some more flavors to it...I cooked onions with the chicken and placed them in the soup, along with thyme, pepper, a little salt and flavored chicken broth..I used four cans instead of three, I also waited till the last half an hour to put the rice in the pot. It came out delicious, everyone enjoyed it...along with garlic bread. It is lite but yet hits the spot on a cold New England day. Thank you for the easy yet great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This soup is delicious and it is one of my favorite dishes in the winter. It goes great with some home made whole wheat bread. I like to spice up the soup a bit by adding some thyme, garlic, and basil. Find the right combination of these three to meet your taste buds. For the listed recipe that serves six, I add one crushed clove of garlic, about 1 tablespoon of dried basil, and 1/2 tablespoon of dried thyme. You don't want to overpower the original recipe's taste, just add some more subtleties. If you're having problems with mushy rice, make sure to use parboiled rice. I've never had the problem with mushy rice when I've used parboiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was pretty good, butI would definitely add the rice at the end next time! I don't mind mushy, but the rice turned to liquid. I also added Thyme and Basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Instead of rice I added Pasta and it was really good. I had read the other ratings and did hold off on putting the pasta in until the end and it was great. I have a picky husband and 2 year old and they both ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I had chicken rice soup in mind today and found this wonderful recipe. Had to change a few things based on what was on hand. No frozen veggies so used 1 zucchini, 2 carrots, 2 celery, 1/2 onion, 1/2 lemon (squeezed juice), added 1/2T basil, 1T thyme, 1 clove garlic. The rice soaked up most of the broth so added 4 additional cups of water + 2 cubes of MSG free chicken bouillon. Perfection! My new favorite. *thanks*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Super simple! I used two raw chicken breasts and shredded them right before eating. Added instant rice for the last 10 minutes. Only criticism is that I would have liked a tad more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Totowa, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States