Chicken and Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This was really good. The whole family enjoyed it. Reading all the problems w/the rice turning the soup to mush, I came up with this solution. I made the soup according to the directions (adding a little more spices to my liking) and instead of adding the rice to the soup to cook, I made the rice first (I used instant rice) and then the last 30 minutes or so, just added the rice to the soup. Came out more like soup, not mush. Hope this helps anyone else. Thanks for the recipe Corwyn. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This soup is delicious and it is one of my favorite dishes in the winter. It goes great with some home made whole wheat bread. I like to spice up the soup a bit by adding some thyme, garlic, and basil. Find the right combination of these three to meet your taste buds. For the listed recipe that serves six, I add one crushed clove of garlic, about 1 tablespoon of dried basil, and 1/2 tablespoon of dried thyme. You don't want to overpower the original recipe's taste, just add some more subtleties. If you're having problems with mushy rice, make sure to use parboiled rice. I've never had the problem with mushy rice when I've used parboiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
Loved this soup...added some more flavors to it...I cooked onions with the chicken and placed them in the soup, along with thyme, pepper, a little salt and flavored chicken broth..I used four cans instead of three, I also waited till the last half an hour to put the rice in the pot. It came out delicious, everyone enjoyed it...along with garlic bread. It is lite but yet hits the spot on a cold New England day. Thank you for the easy yet great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I had chicken rice soup in mind today and found this wonderful recipe. Had to change a few things based on what was on hand. No frozen veggies so used 1 zucchini, 2 carrots, 2 celery, 1/2 onion, 1/2 lemon (squeezed juice), added 1/2T basil, 1T thyme, 1 clove garlic. The rice soaked up most of the broth so added 4 additional cups of water + 2 cubes of MSG free chicken bouillon. Perfection! My new favorite. *thanks*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Good. But when preparing, I would cut back on the lemon seasoning. Also, for an interesting twist, used flavored chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
DELICIOUS! I added a little black pepper and garlic powder for some extra flavor. I would also recommend reserving the chicken and rice til the last hour or two of cooking, as the chicken disintegrates and the rice soaks up too much liquid and gets mushy. But otherwise I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I threw all the ingredients in my slow cooker before I left for work. However, when my husband got home less than 5 hours later, the rice was nothing but mush. I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Followed others advice about adding 1 Tsp minced garlic, 1 Tbsp basil, 1 Tsp Thyme, 1 tsp celery salt, and 1 tsp dried Parsley. Left out the rice and replaced it with spinach and cheese Tortellini. I did not add the noodles until the last 25 minutes. Was really tasty! My boyfriend had 3 bowls full!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My family is in LOVE with this soup! We had it for the first time today and my husband can't stop talking about it. My two year old even asked for more after eating a very hearty portion. I took the advice of some others and added a clove of garlic, 1 T of dried basil, and 1/2 T of dried thyme. In addition, I didn't have the lemon and herb seasoning on hand, so I added 1/8 t black pepper, 1-2 T dried oregano, 1-2 t bottled lemon peel. I didn't have the time to use the slow cooker, so I just mixed everything, but the brown rice I used, together in my dutch oven, brought it to a boil, then reduced the heat and let it simmer for about 20 minutes or so. Then I added the cooked brown rice to the pot and let it cook for another 10 minutes. Absolutely superb! Would give it more than 5 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
GREAT RECIPE! FAMILY ASKED FOR MORE. NEXT TIME I WILL TRY ADDING RICE 1 1/2 HOURS BEFORE FINISHED SO THAT RICE DOESN'T TURN MUSHY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States