Chicken and Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
DELICIOUS! I added a little black pepper and garlic powder for some extra flavor. I would also recommend reserving the chicken and rice til the last hour or two of cooking, as the chicken disintegrates and the rice soaks up too much liquid and gets mushy. But otherwise I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This was really good. The whole family enjoyed it. Reading all the problems w/the rice turning the soup to mush, I came up with this solution. I made the soup according to the directions (adding a little more spices to my liking) and instead of adding the rice to the soup to cook, I made the rice first (I used instant rice) and then the last 30 minutes or so, just added the rice to the soup. Came out more like soup, not mush. Hope this helps anyone else. Thanks for the recipe Corwyn. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was pretty good, butI would definitely add the rice at the end next time! I don't mind mushy, but the rice turned to liquid. I also added Thyme and Basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
not sure if I did something wrong... but the rice disintegrated. it turned out not quite as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Good. But when preparing, I would cut back on the lemon seasoning. Also, for an interesting twist, used flavored chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I had mush, too, and I added the rice 1-1/2 hours before serving. My husband ate it, but no one else would. I thought it needed more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This soup is delicious and it is one of my favorite dishes in the winter. It goes great with some home made whole wheat bread. I like to spice up the soup a bit by adding some thyme, garlic, and basil. Find the right combination of these three to meet your taste buds. For the listed recipe that serves six, I add one crushed clove of garlic, about 1 tablespoon of dried basil, and 1/2 tablespoon of dried thyme. You don't want to overpower the original recipe's taste, just add some more subtleties. If you're having problems with mushy rice, make sure to use parboiled rice. I've never had the problem with mushy rice when I've used parboiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
Loved this soup...added some more flavors to it...I cooked onions with the chicken and placed them in the soup, along with thyme, pepper, a little salt and flavored chicken broth..I used four cans instead of three, I also waited till the last half an hour to put the rice in the pot. It came out delicious, everyone enjoyed it...along with garlic bread. It is lite but yet hits the spot on a cold New England day. Thank you for the easy yet great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I threw all the ingredients in my slow cooker before I left for work. However, when my husband got home less than 5 hours later, the rice was nothing but mush. I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This recipe was very easy, however, I thought it was a bit bland. I had placed the leftovers into "lunch ready" containers, but by the next day the rice had soaked up the rest of the liquid. It was more like "chicken flavored rice and vegetables." Of all the leftovers in the fridge...it is still waiting to be chosen. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States