Chicken and Rice Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
this recipe was really good. I found for smaller recipes you can cut the rice down and cut the water down for the amount you cut in the rice and brocoli. For example cut the rice from 1 1/2 to 1 then you cut the water by half also and the brocoli by half and it evens out to make smaller portions so this would make a good dinner for 2 instead of for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
While browning chicken I sprinkled meat with garlic salt, paprika, and some pepper. Remove meat. fry onion, add soup and water- used basmati rice. then cooked 15 min. added steamed broccoli and cooked for another 10. Really tasty, ordinary family fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I looked at a similar recipe that called for Cream of Chicken instead where I found some suggestions for this recipe. I pre-cooked some slow cook brown rice (for added nutritional value). I realized after I had put the water in that I didn't need as much since the rice was already cooked, so I scooped some off. If you use pre-cooked rice, use 1 cup of water. Then when we were eating it, we realized it needed something - cheese. That helped the flavor quite a bit. It was good, and I might make it again. It just needs to be played with a little more to make it a 4 or 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamsGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I cooked the chicken,pulled it out,added the cream of mushroom,water,long grain white rice covered and cooked 15 min, add about 1/2 c. fresh minced broccoli and 1 c. carrots 1 can cream of chicken and little bit of water, cover and cook 5 min. cut chicken breast into bite size pieces and add chicken cover and cook 5 more min at last min top with Mexican blend cheese and serve. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Left over chicken broth to the water and mushrooms nuked first to the mixture, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Easy to fix, and my wife and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was very bland and didn't have flavor. There was way too much water to the point where the chicken was just sitting in water. My kids all didn't want to eat it. I don't mean to be rude and criticize anyone's recipe, but this one just wasn't right for my family of three very picky eaters. Maybe if there was much less water and more spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Bland, mushy, old-age home food. I added hot sauce to my plate, my son added garlic salt to his, and my daughter added parmesean cheese to hers -- none was an improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBONO

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States