Chicken and Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used the basic concept of this recipe but used leftover chicken breasts and leftover uncle ben's chicken flavored wild rice blend for the rice (rinsed to remove the extra seasonings). Half this recipe was more than enough for my family of 4. Since I had leftover chicken, I decided to keep the celery and onion and just sautéed them in some butter with salt and pepper until they were soft. I added the butter and flour to the onions and celery and just proceeded with the cheese sauce in the same pan, then added the chicken and rice. I think either the rice ratio is a little off or my leftover rice "blend" with wild rice, white rice, and orzo, just didn't pick up the cheese sauce like straight rice would. I would not double the rice, but maybe just add another 1/4 c each time until I got the right ratio. I left out the mushrooms due to taste preference of my family. I thought it looked a little boring without a topping so I crushed up some ritz crackers to add a topping. This was really cheesy and delicious, a nice change from a canned cream soup based casserole. It was so easy too! It will go in the rotation AND I will tinker to make different casseroles with the same basic concept. Update: The leftovers were fine with the ratio of rice to sauce. I bet it would have been dry with more rice. If I add more rice, I would only add 1/4 c. TOTAL to avoid the leftovers being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra Johnson
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Easy and quick recipe used thighs instead of whole chicken and I also used Wonderful flour mix instead of all purpose. Family loved it!!! Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts. Cooked with fresh mushrooms,celery and onion. Added 2 bouillon chicken cubes and the 2 bay leaves to make the broth. Also added 1 clove of garlic and home made season salt to taste. Cooked about 20 minutes to make the celery soft, I have a family member who must have all vegetables well cooked or purried. Drained the broth and put the vegetables aside. Made 2 cups rice using the broth, then used the remaining broth about a cup and a half and a cup and a half of milk for the cheese sauce. Mixed in the vegetables and rice, sprinkled with bread crumbs. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette Purvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I liked this a lot! Comfort food at its best. We didn't have mushrooms, but I used fresh green beans and some frozen mixed veggies. It does need quite a bit salt and pepper. I could see myself taking this dish to new moms! It filled a 9 x 13 pan easily. This pregnant mama can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved it!. I added a tablespoon of Rosemary to give it a bit more flavor before I put it in the oven and I topped it with mozzarella cheese. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Everyone in our family loved this. Plus it was so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This recipe is a great starting point for an easy casserole. You can use whatever vegetables or cooked grains you have on hand which makes it very versatile. Today I made it with quinoa and brown lentils instead of rice and blended mozzarella and cheddar cheese because I did not have enough of either. On hand today was red pepper and peas and that is what found its way into the casserole. It was delicious. I highly recommend this to anyone! The only reason this recipe is not a 5 star is because 8 tablespoons of flour for the roux was far too much. But other then that, follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
For me this was okay but not great. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I've never had so many accolades from my family over a meal! This is really sooooo good. I added fresh spinach leaves (torn into sm. pieces). It distresses me GREATLY that I can never, ever cook it again, though b/c of the calories and fat!! Is that info accurate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States