Chicken and Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This a really good & easy workday meal! The only change I made was to use Lipton Onion-Mushroom soup mix instead of the plain onion soup mix. I think the plain onion mix is just too strong. As for the reviewers who had problems with uncooked rice, your problem occured because you used non-fat milk. I don't know the chemistry behind it, but you need to use 2% or whole milk in a recipe like this where the rice cooks while baking. Try it again and I promise you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
My husband and I loved this! Definitely use instant rice in this dish. It does taste heavy on the onion soup flavor, so if you don't like that flavor you should cut it back. I personally love it and used the entire packet. It was a great, throw it together fast, clean up while it's in the oven, and have great leftovers meal! Thanks, Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was pretty good. I used two cups of brown minute rice and a half of the package of soup mix and it turned out perfectly. Putting the rice mixture on top of the chicken keeps the chicken really moist, tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Well, I dont know about the snob who said this was only for beginners. I made this just like it is written (use half a pkg of onion soup mix) and it was excellent. I have been cooking for 40 years and it was a great easy casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
Definitly the best casserole dish I have tried for chicken. What a difference it makes to mix all the ingredients together. I cut the chicken into chunks or strips. Tastes really good the next day if there happens to be any leftover. Doesn't happen often with my family, everyone enjoys this dish! Hobbit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This recipe needs to be stopped! It needs to be consigned to the archives of "Beginners Only". Don't bother unless you're a novice... in which case you MIGHT think it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This recipe is delicious. It cooked perfectly. I used 6 chicken legs instead of the breasts. I've been looking for years for the casserole my grandma used to make when we visited and THIS IS IT! I made it without the can of mushrooms, only because my children think they are toxic waste, but it was still creamy and delicious, just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I was looking for this kind of recipe, but most of the ones I saw, I didn't like the look of. This was the one I decided to go with. I did make some tweaks though. I used Cream of Chickena and Mushroom soup, and fresh mushrooms. I also threw in some spices (basil, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper). I cooked the sauce before putting it in the oven, and put the rice in the sauce to let it soften up a bit before baking. This turned out really good though, and I think I've found another regular recipe to add to the rota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Easy as pie, and a big hit, especially for cold nights, it is a great recipe to make little changes and have a whole new dish, llike using broccoli soup instead of mushroom, or adding a variety of frozen veggies instead of just the mushrooms, it is a great recipe to put together what you have in your cabinets and come out the hit of the house ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Turned out amazing! Used a whole package of onion mushroom soup mix instead, and added 2 cups of shredded cheddar, most in but enough to add a layer on top of cheese as well. Also went with fresh diced mushrooms instead of canned, cubed chicken instead of just breasts, and a layer of french fried onions on the very top. (And after reading all the other reviews I made sure to use instant rice and it worked perfectly, though it only cooked for an hour covered. Didn't need the extra 15 mins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlmySidaKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States