Chicken and Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I was looking for this kind of recipe, but most of the ones I saw, I didn't like the look of. This was the one I decided to go with. I did make some tweaks though. I used Cream of Chickena and Mushroom soup, and fresh mushrooms. I also threw in some spices (basil, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper). I cooked the sauce before putting it in the oven, and put the rice in the sauce to let it soften up a bit before baking. This turned out really good though, and I think I've found another regular recipe to add to the rota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I just prepared this for dinner tonight. Like many of the other reviewers, I made a few changes...I browned my chicken breasts (which I marinated in Italian dressing first) and sauteed the mushrooms. I also used instant rice, evaporated milk, only half the onion soup mix, and added about a fourth teaspoon of black pepper. Other than that, I followed everything else as written. In one hour and fifteen minutes, the casserole was done to perfection. It wasn't soupy or mushy at all. Hot buttered peas and a basket of warm rolls complimented the meal quite nicely. I will definitely make this again, but being a bit of an experimental cook, I might try different soup combos/instant soup flavors in future. Buon Appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
What a great recipe! I did make a couple of changes- left out the mushrooms and the onion soup- due to what I had on hand at the time. Was still delicious, and as a bonus was so quick to make. This is a new regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was pretty good. I used two cups of brown minute rice and a half of the package of soup mix and it turned out perfectly. Putting the rice mixture on top of the chicken keeps the chicken really moist, tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I love this casserole. My mom has been making something like this for 20 some odd years. I used this recipe and it tastes just like mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Note: this will not work unless you use that horrible, expensive, disgusting instant rice product. Also if it does work it's just another oversalted, pre-processed "glop from a can" dish. What a horrendous waste of expensive chicken breasts this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I searched for this recipe as I used to make it when I was in college. I make it with one can of cr mushroom soup and one can of cr of chicken soup. The only other change was that I used minute rice brown rice. It turned out perfect, very tasty. Next time will use half pkg of onion soup mix tho. The consistency was perfect, not too runny and the rice was cooked. Didn't have the problems others have mentioned. My very picky husband even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Nobody at my house wanted to eat this dish. I was not appealing to the eye and did not have good texture to it at all. Some of the rice was hard and uncooked so i left it to cook a lot longer. Then it was too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Not good at all. Couldn't even eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Good flavor. Rice was hard. I won't make this again. I think recipe required you use instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States