Chicken and Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I've tried several Chiken and Rice casseroles here and this is the best. I added some chicked bouillon for added flavor. I also use Campbell's Cream of Chicken and Mushroom soup and whole grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a great recipe. My husband hates mushrooms, so I substituted frozen peas instead, and used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Turned out amazing! Used a whole package of onion mushroom soup mix instead, and added 2 cups of shredded cheddar, most in but enough to add a layer on top of cheese as well. Also went with fresh diced mushrooms instead of canned, cubed chicken instead of just breasts, and a layer of french fried onions on the very top. (And after reading all the other reviews I made sure to use instant rice and it worked perfectly, though it only cooked for an hour covered. Didn't need the extra 15 mins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlmySidaKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Used brown rice & it didn't cook. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Well, I dont know about the snob who said this was only for beginners. I made this just like it is written (use half a pkg of onion soup mix) and it was excellent. I have been cooking for 40 years and it was a great easy casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My husband and I liked it a lot. I made it with chicken thighs. it took just 10-15 extra min to cook. It was so easy to make... Just mix in all the ingredients together, pour over chicken and forget about it!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe is a must for busy cooks! I like the fact that most of these ingredients are usually on hand in my kitchen. This will definetly be cooked again in my Kitchen. The onion soup packet made all the difference with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This dish had an oatmeal looking consistency and the taste was awful. I gave it 1 star because I was able to salvage the chicken, which was moist. The rice did not cook even after 1-1/2 hours. Even though I only used 1/2 the package of onion soup mix as suggested by others, it was still too overpowering. The smell was nauseating after an hour and half. I quick made a couple of sides and wiped off the chicken and saved the meal. I will not be making this or any variation of this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Not bad at all. I added an extra can of mushrooms and a cup of frozen spinach. I also added a bit of garlic powder and some other seasonings. The rice turned into somewhat of a bread stuffing consistency so I might add some more milk next time and cut out the last 15 minutes of cooking because everything appeared to be cooked correctly when the hour was up. Overall me and the hubby liked it and it will go into rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyheyern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a big hit at my house. I used Lipton Onion-Mushroom instead of regular onion soup mix and it helped cut down on the "oniony" taste. I skip the can of mushrooms for the kids,who don't like the extra mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States