Chicken and Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
ok- tried it with brown rice. DO NOT SUBSTITUTE FOR INSTANT RICE. Any "normal" rice will not cook with this recipe. Sadly, will never make this recipe again, and could not recommend this at all, since i never keep instant rice in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Should have listened to the previous reviews and only used 1/2 package of onion soup mix. This was overpoweringly "onion" flavored with an entire pouch. However, given the tweak I would imagine this would be very good. Will have to try again with other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Sellner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this exactly by the recipe and my rice was not cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Use instant rice!! I used the uncooked with whole milk and the rice still didn't cook all the way. I also used fresh sliced white mushrooms instead of canned, they tasted amazing. Instead of 2 cream of mushroom.. I used 1 cream of mushroom- 1 cream of chicken. I also sprinkled in some cheddar cheese, especially on top! Overall success... Except for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I was in the mood for some good old comfort food and remembered recipes similar to this one from years ago. I followed the recipe exactly and the chicken turned out dry and over cooked. Not sure if the rice would be cooked if you cut the cooking time so I threw out this recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this and used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and also added a little fresh parmesan cheese. It turned out pretty good and it was easy. We will see if my husband likes it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
My mom used to make this recipe for us growing up 30 years ago, we always loved it!!!! I am going to make this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday. The flavor was awesome but I used chicken thighs and it took longer then 1 hr and 15 minutes to cook. I would recommend using 2 cups of milk. My rice was still a little undercooked with 1 cup and really thick. 2 cups might have made it better. I also used the onion mushroom soup mix. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This just wasn't a dish for me. I can see how it's really easy to put together if you are in a pinch and have just a couple of minutes to throw something together but it really isn't worth it. My family thought it was oddly flavored, overly salty because of the onion soup mix and requested that this not make it into the dinner rotation again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Super easy and delicious! My family LOVES the moist rice, so I doubled the recipe, but used the original 6 chicken breasts. You can also experiment with some added seasonings for a different flavor. Adding a little curry or thyme to the chicken is nice sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States