Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I adjusted this recipe slghtly after reading the other reviews. It must have worked because my husband, who belongs to "picky-eaters anonomous" asked for seconds! This recipe makes the best chicken I have ever tasted. The adjustemnts I made were to decrease the paprkia and brown sugar by half, only use 3/4 c wine and leave the lid off so it thickens better. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Following some of the advice of others, I modified this recipe to tailor it to my family's tastes. For this, I used four boneless chicken breasts with the tenderloin cut to create eight pieces of chicken. I added sliced onions and mushrooms, which I sauted before browning the chicken and returned to the pot after adding the liquid. I also cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup, as per others suggestions. In addition, I only used 1/2 cup of a nice "Concho y Toro" chilean merlot and added 1/2 cup of reduced sodium chicken broth for the liquid. I dredged the chicken in seasoned salt and the paprika and let it sit 15 minutes which helped to create a nice color during the browning process, as I decided not to fully cook the chicken before the simmer to reduce dryness. I also thickened the broth, as per a suggestion, after removing the cooked chicken by adding 1 tablespoon cornstarch and heating to boiling. This recipe was excellent! My two year old gobbled up the chicken and demanded not only seconds but thirds! The sauce, thick with onions and mushrooms, made a wonderful gravy for mashed potatoes. I was paid the highest compliment for this dish as my mother-in-law asked for the recipe! What better endorsement than that? Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This recipe was great, but the measurements on the ingredient list must be way off. 1 1/2 cups of sugar is WAY too much. So is 1 tablespoon of salt. This recipe is perfect with about 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of pepper and t teaspoon of paprika. Also, I suggest simmering the chicken with the lid off so the wine will reduce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
I used 1/4 cup sugar, which was just enough. The 'something extra' I added was 1TBSP unsalted butter. I added in a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce (I spooned some of the sauce into a separate bowl, mixed with with the corn starch and then put it back into the skillet so it wouldn't get lumpy.) Next time, I may use 3/4 c. wine and 1/4 cup water or broth. It was pretty powerful, but good, chicken. I also coated the chicken with salt, pepper and paprika before I started cooking. I don't remember the measurements but it wasn't the same as this recipe mentions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I've used this website for a LOT of recipes, but this is the first one I've made where my boyfriend couldn't stop talking the entire way through the meal about how great it was. He even ate the extra chicken that I made to bring to lunch today! I too reduced the brown sugar and upped the red wine (we're wine drinkers, so I knew that would be good) and it was delicious. I didn't have any paprika and it turned out fine. I also seasoned the chicken a little with some salt and pepper about an hour before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I personally liked this recipe, but my family members only thought it to be okay. I think because it is VERY sweet. I would reduce the sugar and wine. Since I am the cook, I plan to make it again regardless of the support from my family, but I will modify it slightly so that they also enjoy it. PS-I agree on the mushrooms-add them! Its worth it. Also, simmer with the lid off! This will result in not too much extra sauce (unless you have plenty of something to dip it in!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Very yummy recipe and something different than what I normally fix. I cut back on the sugar, and made sure that I used a dry red wine. I also sliced an onion into thin rings and sauteed it with the garlic for some additional texture to the dish. I made it the first time for company and everyone really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I made this for my fiance and he absolutely loves it! I added mushrooms to the recipe and it tasted delicious. Made the chicken again two days later for guests...and needless to say, they enjoyed it as much as we did! Will definately make this again! This is now one of my favorite chicken dishes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is a simple dish that tastes like a lot of work went into it. I make it whenever I am short on time, since it only takes a few ingredients. My husband loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States