Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe.First of all, the original recipe was for 12 servings.So, most of the changes I read, all closely match when you change the serving size to 5-6.To reduce cooking time for the chicken, and add flavor I cut the breasts lengthwise to about 1/4 to 1/2" thick,dusted with paprika and salt then dredged in flour/paprika/salt/garlic powder and set aside.Removed chicken and added onion, salt and pepper to skillet...after a few minutes, added garlic.While cooking onion, zapped a can of diced tomatoes in the processor just to break them up a little...then a tsp or (or 1 cube) of chicken bouillon(without water due to the liquid of tomatoes)Added 1/4 cup of "light" brown sugar and about 1/2 cup Cabernet Sauvignon and about a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper.Once it reduced a little, I added the mushrooms,then had to add a little water and wine. Let that cook for 5m and added the chicken back, spooning to coat. Since the chicken was thin, it was ready in only a few minutes....Delicious.The kids loved it. I did use a whole onion and two large cloves of garlic...it was perfect. I really think the tomatoes add body to it.Thanks again for all of your comments...what a success. The only other tip I have is the flour dredge being seasoned with paprika and salt and garlic, took care of the thickening issue some had at the end. Plus since the chicken was so thin, I didnt have to add it till the end anyway. It was juicy, fork tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Not my favorite, also cut down on the sugar as recommended and too sweet for me. I brought it as a potluck for work and served over rice pilaf and my co-workers liked it but again, too sweet for me and the purple chicken (from the wine) just was not that appetizing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Simple and very delicious! A nice sweet sauce to make your chicken finger licking good lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This dish was a hit with the ladies, but not so much with the man, who claimed that it was a tad sweet for a dinner dish. Tastes fancy, but is super simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made this sauce for the first time. OMG, I added a little more brown sugar, My boyfriend tells everyone about this sauce i made, it was wonderful. Will make it over, and over again. took it to work and let my co-workers taste it. they wanted MORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This turned out great! served over pasta with fresh veggies. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe is written and it was wonderful! A huge hit with the family. I did not find the sauce too sweet. It was perfect for us. Maybe the type of red wine makes a difference. I used a Pinot Noir. Instead of basting the chicken while it cooked the last 20 minutes, I just turned it over so the chicken could soak up the gorgeous sauce and stay moist. Amazingly easy and delicious. Thank you for the keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Nothing special. I cut down on the sugar as recommended by other reviewers. It was still too sweet for me although the house smelled so wonderful. Easy prep, though. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, even cut the sugar in half as one other reviewer recommended. I'm not sure if somehow I did something wrong but I ended up with a clumpy, weirdly sweet sauce and dried out chicken. I didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Halved recipe for a family of 4 and have a bit left over. Simply delicious. Served with mashed potatoes and a saute of red peppers, onions, and mushrooms. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States