Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used 1 tablespoon of brown sugar with 1 cup of wine and that was plenty sweet. DO NOT use 1 cup. Otherwise this recipe is great. I added some crushed red pepper to the sauce to offset the sweetness and served over penne with a little garlic and butter. I made 4 small chicken breasts and had just enough sauce with the amount listed here as serving 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I looked at the reviews and added chopped onion in with minced garlic, red pepper flakes on the chicken breasts along with basil and used 1/4 cup chicken broth along with the wine. I used about two tablespoons of brown sugar and simmered with the top off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made this for my family this evening and have to say it was just okay. Based on everyone else's reviews I cut the brown sugar and paprika in 1/2. I did season with some salt and pepper and used Barefoot Merlot. I still thought it was too much paprika. I think the purpose of the paprika is to balance out the sweetness but I honestly would have preferred it without. My husband who eats anything said it was okay. My 8 1/2 picked at it and my 11 1/2 year old who is a good eater said she really didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Absolutely divine. I followed Hershey Queen's suggestions and boy am I glad. It took a bit of coaxing to get my family to try this somewhat intimidatingly purple dish, but once they did they were hooked.:) I'm making this again tonight per request. Thank you Robin and the very helpful Allrecipes reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Coleman
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Although I had a small issue with this recipe, it tasted great. I'm not sure if it was too much brown sugar and wine, but my sauce turned into a tar like consistency when it cooled. I poured a small amount of it over the chicken when it was still hot and that was a huge boo boo. It made eating the meal very uncomfortable and we had to eat around a lot of it. Other than that it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gypsiee
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Turned out yummy but the chicken exterior toughened after a while. I'm a new cook so I'm not sure if that's normal. Heating it up made it worse. But despite everything, everyone loved it. Especially mum who is partial to Arabic and Oriental flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
A little on the sweet side. Next time Ill cut down on the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as it's written (except for adjusting number of servings - no sense in making 12 servings for just two people). Maybe I did something wrong, but I wasn't happy with the cooking process at all and the flavor, while good, was not worth trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Star

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I reduced the brown sugar and used Marsala wine...OMG I wished I had the mushrooms because this was so good. Next time instead of paprika (or in addition to) I'll add cayenne pepper. That mix of sweet with spicy will be super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Everything turned out really great except for the amount of sauce the recipe made. Not sure what happened. I took all the recommendations I read from previous reviews. I started out sprinkling salt, pepper, & paprika over the chicken about a half hour before. Browned the chicken first (did not cook all the way through, about 5 mins only) then added the garlic right before adding the wine sauce. I also cut the wine in half w/chicken broth and simply sprinkled brown sugar over the chicken. The taste was really great! Only problem was it barely made any leftover sauce on the side for our noodles. I think next time I will add more wine/chicken broth & not leave the lid off the entire time during the simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States