Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am a new cook and this was the first time I cooked chicken breast ever (I know!!!) It worked really well. My observations: 1. Pounding the chicken breast to make thickness even is really important (ok this might be obvious to experienced folks) 2. I sprinkled salt on chicken before placing it on the skillet 3. I used only enough brown sugar to brush both sides of chicken and for me, the result wasn’t discernibly sweet and that suited me just fine 4. I used wine exactly as mentioned 5. I turned the chicken midway to get both sides caramelized Thanks a ton for posting this recipe – I am so nervous about cooking and this attempt open whole new door for me. I took a photo but unable to upload it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Delicious! This was a huge hit with our dinner guests. I only had a little bit of two different kinds of wine; a merlot and a pinot noir. I took the chance and used them both. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My husband is not a fan of chicken but I make it at least once a week because I like it. I used this recipe last night and now he said he won't mind eating chicken if I use this recipe. Thank you for helping me expand my meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Very good recipe provided you make some of the adjustments suggested in the comments. I rubbed the chicken with paprika, salt, and pepper before doing anything and let it sit then I sauteed onions, mushrooms, and garlic first and removed them before adding the chicken. I cooked the chicken for about 5 minutes per side because it will continue to cook when simmering. I used a little less than 1/4 cup of brown sugar (and it could have used even less, maybe just a few tablespoons!), added the vegetables back in, and added 1/2 cup wine. After simmering covered for about 15 minutes I thickened the sauce with about a tablespoon of cornstarch. The wine soaked mushrooms and onions were addictive and the chicken was moist and very flavorful. Went well with roasted potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlejediprincess
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Delicious! I really enjoyed this recipe. I did cut the brown sugar down to a half of a cup, based on other reviews, and it was PERFECT! Just the right amount of sweetness. My boyfriend loved it as well, so I definitely will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
OUTSTANDING! Lost the leftovers to my wife who claimed them for lunch tomorrow. Added a little cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
1 cup sugar and 1 cup water is the recipe for simple syrup. If you mix 1 cup sugar with 1 cup red wine (which already has sugar in it, no matter how dry a wine it is), you are essentially covering your chicken in STRAIGHT SYRUP. I halved the sugar and it was still too sweet (I saved it by adding chicken broth and more dry red wine). Also, garlic should NEVER be added at the beginning because it burns quickly. This could be great, but it requires such major alteration that you're no longer making the original recipe. I gave it two stars instead of one because it has *some* potential. As written-- TERRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is one of the best chicken recipes I've had in a while. It is so juicy and flavorful. Just make sure you make left overs because it just gets better! It basically marinates over night and makes it even more flavorful. I used 3 lbs of chicken, 2/3 C of wine, 2 tsp. paprika and 1/4 C brown sugar. The paprika and brown sugar was plenty, that's the only thing I would change (original recipe calls for quite a bit more sugar — not needed). Make it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is both good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Easy to make, however, as earlier reviewers mention the brown sugar called for is too much. Cut back and season the chicken when browning helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States