Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
1 cup sugar and 1 cup water is the recipe for simple syrup. If you mix 1 cup sugar with 1 cup red wine (which already has sugar in it, no matter how dry a wine it is), you are essentially covering your chicken in STRAIGHT SYRUP. I halved the sugar and it was still too sweet (I saved it by adding chicken broth and more dry red wine). Also, garlic should NEVER be added at the beginning because it burns quickly. This could be great, but it requires such major alteration that you're no longer making the original recipe. I gave it two stars instead of one because it has *some* potential. As written-- TERRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is one of the best chicken recipes I've had in a while. It is so juicy and flavorful. Just make sure you make left overs because it just gets better! It basically marinates over night and makes it even more flavorful. I used 3 lbs of chicken, 2/3 C of wine, 2 tsp. paprika and 1/4 C brown sugar. The paprika and brown sugar was plenty, that's the only thing I would change (original recipe calls for quite a bit more sugar — not needed). Make it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is both good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Easy to make, however, as earlier reviewers mention the brown sugar called for is too much. Cut back and season the chicken when browning helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Too sweet and didn't taste very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Don't follow the recipe, half the sugar and paprika and keep the lid off and this is very, VERY good. Don't lose any of that liquid in the pan, you might want to pour it into a wine glass and drink it. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I love it and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
A good dairy free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was pretty darn good after halving the sugar (I didn't have brown sugar) and adding a little molasses. I used red cooking wine as well which may have helped keep the sweetness down as it has salt added. A little runny, but that can be remedied next time. I cut up various vegetables to cook in the wine sauce. Very good! Definitely something I'll make again! (The only downside was the garlic. It burned before I got the chicken in the pan and couldn't taste it much as others have said. I will probably just brown the chicken next time and add the wine as soon as possible.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
mmmmm cooked cherry tomatoes in the garlic & oil when i took out the chicken then added the wine sauce to them when i removed the chicken from that. removed cherry tomatoes then put them with chicken, sliced cucumbers, feta cheese, balsamic vinegar, and lemon juice all in a pita. This was a gooood recipe. Chicken was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States