Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Awesome! Chicken was tender, and sweet and sour sauce was really delicious. I did not add garlic and used only 1/4c of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Excellent red wine sauce! You know it's good when the food is gone before you, the chef, got to have much of it. It's quick and easy. I was looking to try something new and I'm glad I chose this. The only tweaks I made were these: I seasoned the chicken before cooking it and used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup red wine. I added 1 tsp cornstarch because I like thicker sauces, 1/4 tsp sesame oil, 1 tbs black sesame seeds, 1 tbs oregano. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This chicken is easy and delicious. It tastes great on top of a salad for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Pretty good recipe. It almost tastes like a teriyaki recipe. I ended up caramelizing mine, which I probably would avoid doing if I made this again, as it took away from the wine flavor. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I just tried this tonight and it was delicious even my 5 year old and two year old loved it!!! But like everyone else I only did half of the measurements and came out great! This is so easy to make, it's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used 1 tablespoon of brown sugar with 1 cup of wine and that was plenty sweet. DO NOT use 1 cup. Otherwise this recipe is great. I added some crushed red pepper to the sauce to offset the sweetness and served over penne with a little garlic and butter. I made 4 small chicken breasts and had just enough sauce with the amount listed here as serving 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I looked at the reviews and added chopped onion in with minced garlic, red pepper flakes on the chicken breasts along with basil and used 1/4 cup chicken broth along with the wine. I used about two tablespoons of brown sugar and simmered with the top off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made this for my family this evening and have to say it was just okay. Based on everyone else's reviews I cut the brown sugar and paprika in 1/2. I did season with some salt and pepper and used Barefoot Merlot. I still thought it was too much paprika. I think the purpose of the paprika is to balance out the sweetness but I honestly would have preferred it without. My husband who eats anything said it was okay. My 8 1/2 picked at it and my 11 1/2 year old who is a good eater said she really didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Absolutely divine. I followed Hershey Queen's suggestions and boy am I glad. It took a bit of coaxing to get my family to try this somewhat intimidatingly purple dish, but once they did they were hooked.:) I'm making this again tonight per request. Thank you Robin and the very helpful Allrecipes reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Although I had a small issue with this recipe, it tasted great. I'm not sure if it was too much brown sugar and wine, but my sauce turned into a tar like consistency when it cooled. I poured a small amount of it over the chicken when it was still hot and that was a huge boo boo. It made eating the meal very uncomfortable and we had to eat around a lot of it. Other than that it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States