Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is very similar tasting to a honey & Dijon mustard recipe on here however I find this to be the superior recipe. It is sweet like the other recipe but not as cloying. I didn't have a regular red wine so I used a nice Taylor Port. I should have added a bit more salt since the port was much sweeter then a usual red. There was just enough sauce to toss with noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Should remove chicken before adding the wine to prevent purple chicken. Then add wine and brown sugar, reduce, add flour and milk to create a tasty sauce. When cooking chicken add a cup of diced onions, garlic, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is a very good and simple recipe. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was great! However, I did some alterations based on reviews: --added 1 small onion, sliced --added sliced mushrooms. Sauteed onion, shrooms, and garlic together in oil until mushrooms were soft and onions were browned. Removed veggies and set aside; browned chicken in pan after sprinkling with salt and pepper --reduced paprika to 1 1/2 tsp --reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup --put in 1/2 cup of red wine (all i had left) and 1/2 cup chicken broth Everything simmered (cover on) for 15 minutes; I added a bit of cornstarch at the end to make a thicker sauce. Taste is great!!! Slightly Asian in flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent. I scaled this down to 2 servings and used a bone-in chicken breast. I added half an onion and sauteed it with garlic. I added a few Tbsp brown sugar (less than called for). It was very moist and tender. I served it with rice and green beans. My husband and I both loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was okay but nothing I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very very sweet and that was after decreasing the brown sugar almost by half. The other flavors were nice, but I will decrease the brown sugar even more next time and maybe add some red pepper flakes for contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Super Yummy! Followed other reviewers advice and reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup, added 1 cup chicken broth, and used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Also and some sauted onions and served over quinoa. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by totorothealmighty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made this and it was, in a word – EXCELLENT! We were really impressed. I basically made 1/3 of this recipe using about a pound of chicken, but made 1/2 the sauce. I cut the paprika in half and only used about 3 T. of brown sugar. I cooked my chicken completely and removed it to a warm oven. I then sautéed some mushrooms and proceeded with making the sauce. I thickened this with just a little cornstarch and swirled in a couple of tablespoons of butter. Then added back the chicken, coated it with sauce and served. It was delicious!! And so easy!! Just writing this review makes me want to make it again, and soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States