Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I too have made this dish, several times. Have made the following changes: I use 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup red wine AND use 3 whole carrots, peeled and med. slice on the bias and approx. 10 leaves of fresh sage. I add the carrots and sage with the wine and just let it simmer away. It makes for a wonderful winter's dish, serve over smashed garlic potatoes...with a nice crusty loaf of bread, the rest of the red wine at the table, or in front of the fireplace! YUM-OH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walela

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This chicken comes out perfectly delicious and tender every time! I've made this recipe three times so far, and it's a family favorite. I usually use more wine and it calls for, but that's really only because I don't measure...just pour. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I wasn't thrilled with this. Way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used splenda brown sugar (1/2 the amount) and it was delicious! Great healthy alternative, still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This dish is delicious! As is, it is very sweet but I liked it that way. I have cooked this several times and the key is to make sure to check the sauce as it simmers because over cooking it will cause it to burn and harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XUXU22
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Since I tend to like very sweet things, I went with 3/4 c. sugar to 1 c. wine. This was even too sweet for me! The flavor was still fantastic, but I think that next time I'll cut it to 1/2 c. I added sliced mushrooms and onions. As other reviewers have said, the mushrooms were amazing! I did thicken it a bit with a dab of cornstarch dissolved in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I liked the flovor but didnt read any of the reviews before I cooked it so I was disappointed at how sugary sweet it was. I like sweet, dont get me wrong but I I would definately reduce the sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Excellent flavor, chicken cooked too long. Next time i will cut down the cook time, served with noodles, will definately be making again very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
made it as the reviewers suggested - 1/4 c of brown sugar, 3/4 red wine and 1/4 c chicken broth- and it was delicious! i also added 3 shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is a great combination of ingredients and recipe for chicken. It's also great with mushrooms. The picky eaters in my household loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States