Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was a pretty tasty dish. I took some recommendations and reduced the sugar to about 1/4 cup, and it was still pretty sweet, but nice. I also added mushrooms and onion. I would make this again, but I might decrease the sugar a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Adapted recipe for 2 servings (basically 2 chicken breasts) - diced chicken into bite-sized pieces and cut sugar by half. DELICIOUS!! Served with spaghetti lightly coated in extra sauce, and sautéed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wow, I felt like I made a gourmet dish! Really enjoyed this dish with a side of petite green beans and pearl onions. I didn't follow the recipe exactly however. I actually read a lot of the reviews and took bits of what other reviewers shared they had done with the recipe. Didn't shy away too much from the recipe. If you enjoy wine you have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SanKiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious! Not sure why the negative remarks. I love a sweet sauce on chicken and a red wine flavor. I didn't measure any of the spices or garlic, just seasoned to our taste (heavy on all), pan-seared then simmered. Easy and yummy-couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Way too sweet. Sugar overwhelmed any other flavor. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is so good my kids always ask me to make this dish! The only change I make is to use boneless skinless chicken thighs rather than breasts because. The thighs add a little extra flavor & are so moist they are basically fool-proof to cook. I usually use Pinot Noir for the wine but have used several other reds always with great results. I usually serve this with Roasted Garlic Mashed potatoes also from this site & a side salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I think the commenters are correct in suggesting less brown sugar. I used about 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar and two tablespoons of black strap molasses, plus a bit more than a cup of red wine. The molasses really added a beautiful color and flavor, plus a nice viscosity. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is one of my "go-to" recipes. My husband and I love it. I double the wine and keep the whole cup of brown sugar - we like sauce. I chop onion and mushrooms and saute with the garlic. Also, to make the sauce a little thicker I remove some of the wine liquid, add some corn starch, and slowly stir back in. We serve over egg noodles. Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Used a little less sugar and a smidge more wine. Turned out fantastic, and nearly effortless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States