Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Here is my version from last night let me first say I hate meat and almost never eat it I am sad to say I cleaned my plate.. I only used 4 chicken thighs skin on I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, paprika garlic powder browned the chicken in my Dutch oven with oil and a tad of butter did not cook it all the way, removed it and tossed the skin yuck, tossed in some onions & the brown sugar (1/4 cup) I know wrong place but his is how I brown my onions I think it can take less. Let them brown for a while then added mushrooms brown, Drained off all the fat left in the pot. I added 1 cup stock scraped up all the bits added the wine I used 1/2 cup wine (pinot noir). Set the burner on 3 cooked for an hour or so turning once. Took out the chicken here is where I must have read too many recipes I had thought it called for a corn starch slurry. So I mixed some starch with water added it to the broth tossed the chicken back in and let it do its thing till veggies were done. Happy mistake as this amazing concoction was just thick enough to stick to the chicken and potatoes yum yum yum thanks so much I was no trying to insult you with the changes this is a keeper it made my husband want to lick his plate clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I cut the brown sugar in half (per the recommendations), and the BF and I both agreed that it was still too sweet. I added two small onions and sauteed them with the chicken. I did add 1 tablespoon of butter to the wine sauce, and some corn starch to thicken. I served over pasta, but it didn't really compliment well. If I made it again, I would probably use 1/4 cup brown sugar, keep the sweet cream butter, add whipping cream and a small amount of corn starch-- that combination would probably go well with pasta. I served it with garlic bread and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I loved this recipe though altered it a little. I did 3/4 cup shiraz, 1/4 cup chicken stock, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I sauteed baby portobello mushrooms with red onion and garlic in olive oil first. Then, I browned the chicken seasoned with salt and pepper. Once almost all cooked through, I added back in the mushroom mixture and added the wine mixture and let it simmer until the chicken was done. I added a little cornstarch mixed with water to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This one has become a favorite with my husband, who says he could eat this recipe every day. Unlike other reviews, I actually added a little more brown sugar while cooking, and it did not come out too sweet at all. I have made this twice now, following the recipe almost exactly. The only changes I made were I added some garlic infused dressing while cooking the chicken and did not cover the chicken while cooking as suggested by others. The result was flavorful, easy chicken that my husband thought had been marinating all day due to the infusion of flavors. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Per another reviewer, I added mushrooms, onions and garlic and sauted them before I put the chicken in. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and sprinkled some paprika on it. I used very little brown sugar. I then kept pouring the mixture over top of the chicken. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I gave it 5 stars, according to the changes I made after reading the reviews. I cooked the chicken first, sprinkled with paprika, garlic powder (I was out of minced garlic) and some seasoned salt. I coated the pan with some cooking spray, instead of oil. Removed it from the pan, added 1 Tbsp butter and 1/2 a yellow onion, thinly sliced. I sauted the onion until soft, then returned chicken to the pan, sprinkled with brown sugar (I reduced to 1/2 cup), poured about 3/4 cup wine around the chicken and then added 1/4 cup wine that had been whisked with a little bit of corn starch. Left the lid off and let it simmer about 20 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was so tasty! I only made this for 4 people, so the red wine decreased to 1/3 cup of wine, which was not enough for the pasta I made to go with it. So, next time I will double the wine. There is no reason for that much brown sugar. I sprinkled my chicken with it and added about a tablespoon to the red wine. Definitely use corn starch to thicken up the sauce and leave it uncovered. Also, I used mushrooms which were great in it! I thought there was no way to make this taste good with plain old wine and sugar, but it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I must say absolutely wonderful :D I took my chicken out of the pan and drain my cooked pasta, tossed it into the chicken pan and added just a bit more red wine and mixed it... A keeper.... Thanks so much for sharing a wonderful recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe.First of all, the original recipe was for 12 servings.So, most of the changes I read, all closely match when you change the serving size to 5-6.To reduce cooking time for the chicken, and add flavor I cut the breasts lengthwise to about 1/4 to 1/2" thick,dusted with paprika and salt then dredged in flour/paprika/salt/garlic powder and set aside.Removed chicken and added onion, salt and pepper to skillet...after a few minutes, added garlic.While cooking onion, zapped a can of diced tomatoes in the processor just to break them up a little...then a tsp or (or 1 cube) of chicken bouillon(without water due to the liquid of tomatoes)Added 1/4 cup of "light" brown sugar and about 1/2 cup Cabernet Sauvignon and about a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper.Once it reduced a little, I added the mushrooms,then had to add a little water and wine. Let that cook for 5m and added the chicken back, spooning to coat. Since the chicken was thin, it was ready in only a few minutes....Delicious.The kids loved it. I did use a whole onion and two large cloves of garlic...it was perfect. I really think the tomatoes add body to it.Thanks again for all of your comments...what a success. The only other tip I have is the flour dredge being seasoned with paprika and salt and garlic, took care of the thickening issue some had at the end. Plus since the chicken was so thin, I didnt have to add it till the end anyway. It was juicy, fork tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Not my favorite, also cut down on the sugar as recommended and too sweet for me. I brought it as a potluck for work and served over rice pilaf and my co-workers liked it but again, too sweet for me and the purple chicken (from the wine) just was not that appetizing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States