Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe! Following the advice of others, I salt and peppered the chicken first, then dredged in salt and peppered flour. Browned the chicken, added half an onion, garlic and mushrooms. ONLY added a heaping tablespoon of sugar and 3/4 cup of Merlot. Sides: Mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli and of course the unused Merlot :) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I was hesitant to try this because of all the mixed reviews, but it was excellent! I seasoned the chicken with seasoned salt, pepper, and onion powder before cooking. I also decreased the brown sugar and paprika by half. I was still afraid it would be too sweet, but it wasn't. I served the chicken on top of spaghetti, which absorbed the extra sauce. Make sure to use good wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
It was delicious as isfamily loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These chicken breasts were ok. Not what I expected. And the chicken was purple on the bottom from the wine. So maybe I did something wrong in the preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Best if eaten right away. Doesn't make a good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I did cut down on the brown sugar and it was still far too sweet for our taste. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLLawrence
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'm never quite sure what my family will make of wine sauces, since alcohol isn't on our beverage list. But this was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly.. the chicken was very tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I read some of the other reviews before making and this turned out great! I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar & just 3 chicken breasts - i also used 1/2 cup of red wine (a malbec) and 1/2 cup of reduced sodium chicken broth as the liquid. I also let it reduce by leaving the lid off of the pan for about 5 minutes toward the end to make more of a syrup to coat the chicken on the plates. This was a definite winner and I will be making this again - I may try it in a crock pot next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Some Have Wondered About The Amount Of Sugar Etc....If You Click On "Adjust Serving" It Will Give YouTh Reduced Amount Of Sugar And Wine.....This Recipe Was Absolutely Tremendous!! Was LookIng For SomethiNg Different, Quick, Easy And Delicious And I Found It!! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States