Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Tasty & fast with only a few ingredients. I used chopped green pepper and onion with the garlic to sauté. Added a little more red wine. I also thickened the sauce with a teaspoon of flour dissolved in cold water towards end of cooking time. Not a speck left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Louis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Substituted 1/4 cup honey & 1 teaspoon molasses for the sugar (rest of the family don't eat Brown sugar). Added 2 tablespoons of fresh ginger. Extra cup of red wine and 1 tablespoon Tamari sauce. Simmered to reduced the sauce almost to a glaze. Little different, but Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Loved this! My family was a little nervous about it but then tried it and loved it! I did take advice from other reviews and mixed some of the sauce with cornstarch to make the sauce thicker. Also added mushrooms and onions, sauteed them first and then added them when I added the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This tasted terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I thought this dish was excellent. Not quite sure why the other reviewers thought it was overly sweet; I thought it was the perfect amount of wine and brown sugar. The only minor changes I made was to let it simmer with the lid off, and I also added a small sliced onion. My husband and I both loved it! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Only two of us, so used 1/2 cup red wine, 1/4 cup of brown sugar etc. Only had chicken tenders so since they don't take long to cook, put in oven. Had to add flour to thicken. Sorry - it looks like HECK, and tastes only moderately better. There are so many better chicken recipes online (check the red pepper jelly one). This will NOT be made again in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Despite some of the negagive comment, I mAde this adjusting the ingredients for two with no variations! My daughter and I just finished dinner and both agree it deserves 5 stars! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mohananiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I used three chicken breasts, cut into halves, with 1/4 cup sugar, 2 tsps paprika, and 1 cup red wine (the amount called for in the recipe). Given all the mixed reviews, I didn't feel great going entirely with the recipe as written, and I think this adjustment worked pretty well. I wish I had added the garlic later in the browning process though because it burned pretty badly early on - couldn't really taste it in the final product though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States