Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was good, but not as good as I was hoping. I did take other reviewers' advice and I cut back the sugar and the wine a bit. The sauce was very yummy and my family loved it- especially my kids. It tastes a little bit like a teriyaki sauce because of the brown sugar. I don't know that the cooking method and time was quite right. I questioned it initially because it seemed long for chicken breasts, but then decided to follow the recipe and so I ended up with fairly dry chicken. If I do this again I will give the chicken a quick sear, then make the sauce and add the chicken back to the pan for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Delicious! I used 1/3 c brown sugar and more than a cup of red wine-- next time I might use just under 1/3 c of the sugar though. I sliced the chicken into 8 pieces and left the top off to really let the sauce reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really quite tasty. Not something to make too often, but a nice departure from the "white" chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very tasty! The only change I made was adding another tsp. of minced garlic to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Tryban Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Was ok, my son didn't like the sauce at all, though he is very fussy. I felt the chicken was very dry, but maybe I just overcooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed others' advice and added onions and mushrooms to the sauce. Excellent recipe, I'm sure to use this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I went ahead and tried this too. Tried the suggestions with less sugar and paprika, same amount of wine. And it was okay. I don't think I'll be repeating it anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as given and it was fantastic. Served with sweet corn and brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used 1/4 c brown sugar and it was still wayyy too sweet. I wont be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
way, way, way too sweet! Nearly inedible the way it is. I had to add lots of mustard powder, vinegar, more garlic, etc. to make the leftovers edible. What a waste of chicken and wine. :( Next time I would add maybe only a Tbsp of brown sugar, not an entire cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States