Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My family loved it! Cut the paprika to make it more mild. Still went with all the wine and sugar and added some chicken broth for more sauce. I dredged my chicken in flour salt and pepper before sauteing in the pan, this helps make the sauce thicker. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnsthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
As others suggested I altered the recipe; only using 1/2 of the brown sugar and wine as called for and doubling the garlic. I think I slightly overcooked the sauce but it still went over wonderful! Everyone liked it, including the kids. I served it with steamed white rice and broccoli and it fit wonderfully. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I found this recipe to be very delicious and took the advice of others to use 1/2 wine, 1/2 chicken broth. Made it just right. I also cut back on the brown sugar ( 1/2 cup) and rubbed the chicken with the paprika and some seasoned salt and pepper and put it in fridge until I was ready to cook. I also used 1 cup of sliced sweet onions and browned them and the garlic in olive oil and removed them until the chicken was browned then added them back with the wine and the broth and brown sugar. 1/2 cup of sugar is plenty and for some maybe a tad less would work. I added the cornstarch just before serving and that worked well too. Hubby loved the whole dish. Served with rice and think next time will try mashed potatoes. Deeeelish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolynB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I followed other reviewers’ advice and cut back on the sugar. For 2 lbs. of chicken, used about 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp. paprika and 1 cup wine. I also used some cornstarch to thicken it after removing the chicken. The chicken & sauce looks sumptuous as well as tasting good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
FABULOUS!! I used 3 TBSP of Slenda Brown sugar and used 1/2 cup wine and 1/2 of chicken broth. I wish I knew how many calories are in this and the nutritional facts because I will make this MANY times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was really good and my husband loved the flavor of the sauce. I also made adjustments according to the other reviews. It was delicious using 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c red wine and 1/4-1/2 c chicken broth. I dredged the chicken in paprika, salt, pepper and sage and baked it covered for 30 minutes. I sauted mushrooms and onions and poured that and the sauce over the chicken and baked another 20 minutes uncovered and then added cornstarch to some of the remaining chicken broth to thicken the sauce and served with brown rice. I'll definitely make this again. I'm always looking for new chicken recipes and this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. It was a big hit with the family and it was so simple! I first of all fried up some onions in olive oil and garlic, and then put it in a separate dish. Then i browned the chicken with salt, pepper & paprika. Then i added the chicken to the dish with the onions and then added the sauce over the chicken. I used a 1/4 cup od sugar but that could still be reduced. I then baked it in the oven for about 30mins. When it was done baking i thickened the sauce with a bit of corn starch. Next time i will add more wine to create more sauce. i served it wish mashed potatoes and other greens. Dellicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I think I made a slight error and combined all the sauce ingredients and poured them over the chicken to cook -- the result was a very yummy sauce and no purple chicken (which is a good thing!) This was a very easy recipe, I might consider adding a little red pepper flakes to jazz it up a bit or change out the paprika for chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe was WAY too sweet. It was difficult to choke it down and that was even after SEVERAL modifications. We made it as the recipe suggested and it tasted like that coating on a candy apple. So, we added salt...then soy sauce to try to make it taste like sweet & sour chicken...then more red wine...NOTHING made this edible. I will be looking for another Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe. (my only thought is that the amount of Brown Sugar was listed incorrectly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was good, but not as good as I was hoping. I did take other reviewers' advice and I cut back the sugar and the wine a bit. The sauce was very yummy and my family loved it- especially my kids. It tastes a little bit like a teriyaki sauce because of the brown sugar. I don't know that the cooking method and time was quite right. I questioned it initially because it seemed long for chicken breasts, but then decided to follow the recipe and so I ended up with fairly dry chicken. If I do this again I will give the chicken a quick sear, then make the sauce and add the chicken back to the pan for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States