Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I think this recipe would be good just as it stands, but like all of you I cant resist tinkering a bit. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar, and 1 tsp of ginger to the sauce mix. I also ended up using 1 can of chicken broth. It reduces down and gets thick much quicker than I thought it would. So while the rice was cooking (after I had burnt the potatoes) if the sauce looked too thick I could just add the chicken broth a bit at a time. Fantastic. I will be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I followed all recommendations for this, but it still had a weird sugary wine taste. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My husband and I agree, the sauce is what makes it, but without that the chicken is average. If I were to make it again, I would add cornstarch to the sauce to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
The flavor was good. Though I think it was way too much sugar, would consider reducing it to half for sure. Also, the consistency of the sauce was off. Mine basically turned out to be liquid. I think with a little adjustments it could work. Still, my go too red wine chicken will be Mark Bitman's apricot chicken not this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Simple and delicious. I cut the recipe in half and followed the instructions as written. I used red cooking wine. The second time I made it, I omitted the salt and pepper and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for. I served it with spaghetti. I love the taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
this was great! I'm so going to make it again I only add 1/4 cup of sugar and mushrooms it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I used this recipe with chicken thighs. I braised them in the sauce and it came out fantastic. Also, I advise adding a little chicken stock (not broth!) to the sauce. The gelatin in the stock thickens the sauce up, as well as, adds a really nice, rich flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States