Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
not bad considering it was very easy.. I used some old strong merlot and I thought it was tasty.. the chicken was a bit dry though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
In addition reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, I used half cup wine and half cup chicken stock. Also I cooked down the onions and mushrooms as others suggested. My own tweaks were to dredge the chicken tenders into flour, s&p, before a quick run through the oil which thickened the sauce. I also added about 1/4 cup of soy sauce and a shake of tabasco to the sauce. I put it all together in a baking dish and popped it in the oven for about 20 minutes @350 to let it all work together and served it with rice and broccoli. My husband said it was the best thing I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I cannot TELL you how impressed I am with this recipe. First time I made it exactly as written and it turned out great! Chicken was flavorful, TENDER, and even re-heated well (still moist!). Next time I may reduce the brown sugar to make the sauce a bit less sweet and experiment with increasing the garlic, but that's just nit-picking; boyfriend & I both liked this & it is a keeper!!! (Also, with the pan I was using I was unable to drain the oil, so I just added the other ingredients to it and I really don't think it made a difference on taste while saving a step.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was very good but didn't have enough sauce. I also took the advice of other reviewers and added mushrooms and decreases the amount of brown sugar by 1/2 at least. Overall, it was very tasty but needed some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriamG
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I tried this thinking it would be fantastic and it just wasn't. I had to cut down on the sugar by more than half and it was still too sweet. The sauce was also very runny. I wouldn't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is very similar tasting to a honey & Dijon mustard recipe on here however I find this to be the superior recipe. It is sweet like the other recipe but not as cloying. I didn't have a regular red wine so I used a nice Taylor Port. I should have added a bit more salt since the port was much sweeter then a usual red. There was just enough sauce to toss with noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Should remove chicken before adding the wine to prevent purple chicken. Then add wine and brown sugar, reduce, add flour and milk to create a tasty sauce. When cooking chicken add a cup of diced onions, garlic, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is a very good and simple recipe. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was great! However, I did some alterations based on reviews: --added 1 small onion, sliced --added sliced mushrooms. Sauteed onion, shrooms, and garlic together in oil until mushrooms were soft and onions were browned. Removed veggies and set aside; browned chicken in pan after sprinkling with salt and pepper --reduced paprika to 1 1/2 tsp --reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup --put in 1/2 cup of red wine (all i had left) and 1/2 cup chicken broth Everything simmered (cover on) for 15 minutes; I added a bit of cornstarch at the end to make a thicker sauce. Taste is great!!! Slightly Asian in flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States